We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place to call home for a couple of days on the Animas River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place to call home for a couple of days on the Animas River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

First of all, I love tripadvisor it really helps when you are planning your vacations. Secondly, the reviews are pretty much right on target. The Doubletree hotel , as I sit in my room, looking at the river is great. The room is spacious and clean, the staff has been helpful and courteous. The location is great, especially if you get a river view. The sound of the stream and the breeze is refreshing! Close to historic downtown you just walk across the street to train depot and main street with restaurants an shops. Mama Boy's a Italian restaurant was excellent and good service and a good breakfast and lunch place is Doughworks. Both are on main street and around 27th street. i also recommend Mild to Wild for rafting. Fun town to tool around in and the Doubletree was a nice place to call home for a couple of days!!! One more thing we had lunch at their cafe overlooking the river and the food was very good!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    345
    91
    30
    11
See reviews for
347
395
31
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We spent two nights at this hotel in June. We were warmly welcomed, and our room that we requested , overlooking the river was ready. After spending several weeks on the road, I found this particular hotel to be the best of many. The rooms are quite spacious and quiet. It was an easy walk to the grocery store, liquor store, Season's restaurant and the Durango/Silverton Train Station, which was important to us as we were traveling by motorcycole.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed over here for one evening on our tour from Phoenix to Denver. You are virtually on top of the river and the balcony was a nice enjoyable place to relax after all that time in the car.
The bar downstairs had a nice appetizer platter with chicken, cheese sticks, pepper poppers and various other goodies for a very reasonable price. We ordered this to share and found ourselves plenty full after. They also had an excellent deal on margaritas. Several locals hanging out there watching basketball, so it was a nice place to stop in and mingle.
Room was nice and large with plenty of room for the surprisingly very comfy roll a bed brought up for our son. Lobby is lovely, staff pleasant and helpful. Another place we could have stayed with for another day or two.
I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed here two nights as part of a Globus "Routes of the Old West" tour.
The hotel is very convenient to the town, within walking distance of the train station, and many shops and restaurants. Even had a large liquor emporium and a grocery store within a block's walk if you need snacks/supplies or adult refreshments. Our river view room was very nice, loved the view and the nice balcony to sit on and watch the rafts going up and down the river. The beds were very comfortable also. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was great.....dinner one night was part of the tour package, and the selections were very delicious. The breakfast was wonderful, with a made-to-order omelet station as well as the buffet. Very good!
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Durango.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Clean and Comfortable. Slightly on the small side but not that bad. Don't get room 203 though if you want the balcony with City View, It's the only room on that floor without one. Probably 303 also. Don't know why we ended up with it when we made reservations 2 months in advance. Maybe because we paid in advance with no refunds to get the lower rate. River view room would have been nicer I think, though there was no city noise and very little and not that loud train noise. Would stay there again. Requested microwave and fridge and were delivered promptly. Friendly staff. We had no problem with internet connection, air conditioning or room service as I've read others had.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawesville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights, comfortable beds, clean spacious room, nice river view, very nice service. The only complaint I had was we ordered room service one night. The "kid" on the phone didn't seem familiar with the menu nor for taking an order. I had to remind him to ask about how I wanted my steak done, what sides we wanted, etc. Then when the order came (may have been same "kid") he had knocked over the soup, and the salmon did not have the risotto, nor bernaise sauce with it. My steak was okay, maybe a 3/4" cut, and was not rare as ordered but more medium. Breakfast in the dining room was excellent as was lunch in the Animas Cafe.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

The Doubletree is everything you should expect from a chain hotel in this price range. The location is superb and right along the river where a nice riverwalk area extends. There is a guest laundry, a pool, fitness center and on site restaurant. It is easy walking distance to the central attractions and Durango to Silverton train station. The room was large, clean, new and had very nice features. We stayed on the third floor and were very pleased with the room. Don't stay in any of the rooms on the first floor where the pool and fitness center are. I noticed the hallway was absolutely reeking of chemicals from both pool and laundry facilities when I went down to use the guest laundry facilities. This was not a problem on the third floor. While the Doubletree is no bargain, Durango is not a cheap place to get a hotel room, and other area options are priced comparably.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#1 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.