We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and Excellent Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and Excellent Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed over here for one evening on our tour from Phoenix to Denver. You are virtually on top of the river and the balcony was a nice enjoyable place to relax after all that time in the car.
The bar downstairs had a nice appetizer platter with chicken, cheese sticks, pepper poppers and various other goodies for a very reasonable price. We ordered this to share and found ourselves plenty full after. They also had an excellent deal on margaritas. Several locals hanging out there watching basketball, so it was a nice place to stop in and mingle.
Room was nice and large with plenty of room for the surprisingly very comfy roll a bed brought up for our son. Lobby is lovely, staff pleasant and helpful. Another place we could have stayed with for another day or two.
I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    308
    79
    27
    10
See reviews for
308
350
29
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed here two nights as part of a Globus "Routes of the Old West" tour.
The hotel is very convenient to the town, within walking distance of the train station, and many shops and restaurants. Even had a large liquor emporium and a grocery store within a block's walk if you need snacks/supplies or adult refreshments. Our river view room was very nice, loved the view and the nice balcony to sit on and watch the rafts going up and down the river. The beds were very comfortable also. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was great.....dinner one night was part of the tour package, and the selections were very delicious. The breakfast was wonderful, with a made-to-order omelet station as well as the buffet. Very good!
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Durango.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Clean and Comfortable. Slightly on the small side but not that bad. Don't get room 203 though if you want the balcony with City View, It's the only room on that floor without one. Probably 303 also. Don't know why we ended up with it when we made reservations 2 months in advance. Maybe because we paid in advance with no refunds to get the lower rate. River view room would have been nicer I think, though there was no city noise and very little and not that loud train noise. Would stay there again. Requested microwave and fridge and were delivered promptly. Friendly staff. We had no problem with internet connection, air conditioning or room service as I've read others had.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawesville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights, comfortable beds, clean spacious room, nice river view, very nice service. The only complaint I had was we ordered room service one night. The "kid" on the phone didn't seem familiar with the menu nor for taking an order. I had to remind him to ask about how I wanted my steak done, what sides we wanted, etc. Then when the order came (may have been same "kid") he had knocked over the soup, and the salmon did not have the risotto, nor bernaise sauce with it. My steak was okay, maybe a 3/4" cut, and was not rare as ordered but more medium. Breakfast in the dining room was excellent as was lunch in the Animas Cafe.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

The Doubletree is everything you should expect from a chain hotel in this price range. The location is superb and right along the river where a nice riverwalk area extends. There is a guest laundry, a pool, fitness center and on site restaurant. It is easy walking distance to the central attractions and Durango to Silverton train station. The room was large, clean, new and had very nice features. We stayed on the third floor and were very pleased with the room. Don't stay in any of the rooms on the first floor where the pool and fitness center are. I noticed the hallway was absolutely reeking of chemicals from both pool and laundry facilities when I went down to use the guest laundry facilities. This was not a problem on the third floor. While the Doubletree is no bargain, Durango is not a cheap place to get a hotel room, and other area options are priced comparably.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

. . . until you learn what we learned the hard way. Here is what you need to know:

1. Your beds may or may not have a blanket in between the sheet and the very heavy quilt; If you need a blanket, order it early . . . we waited an hour.
2. Have the technician put your climate control into Farenheit and VIP mode; the default mode is set to turn the entire system off when the motion sensor senses no motion (like when you go to bed).
3. To access their WiFi system, select "hhonors" as your network. Launch a browser, check the VPN checkbox on the DoubleTree welcome screen, then hit the connect button. Since the VPN box has to be checked, you'd think that the DoubleTree would have known and set it correctly (default) on their own access web page.
4. Don't eat in the dining room. The food aspires to be mediocre, but falls short. The servers are oblivious to the requirements of a pleasant dining experience. My wife and I were the first group for dinner and we were given a nice table overlooking the river. The second group to arrive was a loud party of four which was seated at the very next table (in an otherwise empty dining room. There went our dinner conversation. There are many better places to eat in Durango (see TripAdvisor:restaurants).
5. Eat the warm cookie immediately-it turns into a crispy critter very quickly.

The DoubleTree is a beautiful facility handily located on the Animas river walk. But, as has been said, the devil is in the details. Don't stay here the first time . . .your second stay should go more smoothly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pa.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

The hotel is very nice. Good location to walk to town for meals etc. It was just a stopping off point for us but we had a very nice room and great comfortable bed. I am not usually a hotel chain person but this place is very nice and I would stay there again. Nice to wake up to the sound of the train leaving for Silverton in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.