We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Hershey, Pa.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

The hotel is very nice. Good location to walk to town for meals etc. It was just a stopping off point for us but we had a very nice room and great comfortable bed. I am not usually a hotel chain person but this place is very nice and I would stay there again. Nice to wake up to the sound of the train leaving for Silverton in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    295
    75
    27
    10
See reviews for
297
335
27
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

From the moment we were greeted with a warm cookie, to stepping into our clean, nice-smelling room with the river view, we were very happy we'd chosen the Doubletree. The location was perfect for us - right across from the heart of Durango, within walking distance of the train depot (don't drive across the street and pay for parking like we did!) The pool / hot tub area were also very nice, as well as the breakfast (totally worth the extra 10 dollars we paid for our room+breakfast package) and the lounge. Absolutely would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, TX
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We were greeted warmly (warm cookies) and it just go better from there. We had a river view room and we left the door to the balcony open most of the time so we could enjoy the sounds of the Animas river flowing by our room.
Very quiet room, couldn't hear anyone else in this lovely hotel which is more like a Hilton or Marriot then a Doubletree. We rode the train and they let us leave our car there and save a few bucks in parking.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandiego,california
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

This hotel is conveniently located near the city center, next door to a supermarket and adjacent to a calming river walk. The staff is friendly and they greet you with warm chocolate chip cookies. The rooms are modern, clean, comfortable and well-organized. The little indoor pool and jacuzzi will be appreciated by your children. We favored this hotel among our southwest tour's eight stays, which mainly included Hiltons and Hyatts. This hotel is operated by Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed at the Doubletree in Durango years ago and had a great time. At the time they were going through renovation so only the front side had updated rooms, but I am sure they are finished now. The location is perfect! You have the amazing rushing river behind the hotel and the fun sound of the Durango/Silverton train in the front. We slept on both sides and I personally preferred to stay on the river side so I could listen to it at night. But, at the time they only had 2 full size bedrooms on that side (so we were told, I think they might not have wanted to give us a king room on that side since we had booked with a discount) so my husband and I slept in separate beds the rest of the stay. But, with the nice cool temps at night, the sound of the water, it was worth it. In the front you can hear the train in the morning which is pretty cool too, but you do overlook the parking lot. The hotel is easy to get to, near just about everything and the restaurant had great views of the water and the mountains as well. At the time the restaurant needed some serious renovation, but they may have fixed that by now. Overall it was a wonderful stay (except the 2 beds). We will try to stay there again when we return to Durango.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

This hotel is truly awesome. The rooms are great (especially the large bathrooms, with Neutrogena soap, shampoo, lotion, etc.). Very comfortable bed. The pool and fitness room were spotlessly clean. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. And all at a very reasonable price - I booked through Hotels.ca; I would have expected to pay twice what I did for what I got. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel and really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

I used to stay at the Holiday Inn since it was inexpensive and relatively convenient to Steamworks. However, the Holiday Inn's rooms are very dated, drafty, small, and noisy. The Doubletree, which is usually only a few dollars more, is in a whole other class. Large, clean, quite rooms with great bathrooms make all the difference. The breakfast isn't bad, either; if you can snag it cheaply by pre-paying definitely go ahead and do so.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.