We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, This place is fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Greenville, TX
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Wow, This place is fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We were greeted warmly (warm cookies) and it just go better from there. We had a river view room and we left the door to the balcony open most of the time so we could enjoy the sounds of the Animas river flowing by our room.
Very quiet room, couldn't hear anyone else in this lovely hotel which is more like a Hilton or Marriot then a Doubletree. We rode the train and they let us leave our car there and save a few bucks in parking.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    289
    74
    27
    10
See reviews for
286
327
27
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
sandiego,california
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

This hotel is conveniently located near the city center, next door to a supermarket and adjacent to a calming river walk. The staff is friendly and they greet you with warm chocolate chip cookies. The rooms are modern, clean, comfortable and well-organized. The little indoor pool and jacuzzi will be appreciated by your children. We favored this hotel among our southwest tour's eight stays, which mainly included Hiltons and Hyatts. This hotel is operated by Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed at the Doubletree in Durango years ago and had a great time. At the time they were going through renovation so only the front side had updated rooms, but I am sure they are finished now. The location is perfect! You have the amazing rushing river behind the hotel and the fun sound of the Durango/Silverton train in the front. We slept on both sides and I personally preferred to stay on the river side so I could listen to it at night. But, at the time they only had 2 full size bedrooms on that side (so we were told, I think they might not have wanted to give us a king room on that side since we had booked with a discount) so my husband and I slept in separate beds the rest of the stay. But, with the nice cool temps at night, the sound of the water, it was worth it. In the front you can hear the train in the morning which is pretty cool too, but you do overlook the parking lot. The hotel is easy to get to, near just about everything and the restaurant had great views of the water and the mountains as well. At the time the restaurant needed some serious renovation, but they may have fixed that by now. Overall it was a wonderful stay (except the 2 beds). We will try to stay there again when we return to Durango.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

This hotel is truly awesome. The rooms are great (especially the large bathrooms, with Neutrogena soap, shampoo, lotion, etc.). Very comfortable bed. The pool and fitness room were spotlessly clean. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. And all at a very reasonable price - I booked through Hotels.ca; I would have expected to pay twice what I did for what I got. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel and really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

I used to stay at the Holiday Inn since it was inexpensive and relatively convenient to Steamworks. However, the Holiday Inn's rooms are very dated, drafty, small, and noisy. The Doubletree, which is usually only a few dollars more, is in a whole other class. Large, clean, quite rooms with great bathrooms make all the difference. The breakfast isn't bad, either; if you can snag it cheaply by pre-paying definitely go ahead and do so.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We chose it because it offers a free shuttle to the airport, and it has a car rental desk in the lobby. We started and ended our trip through the south-west here.

Everyone at this hotel was very friendly and helpful, the drive of the shuttle bus, the receptionists, the staff in the restaurant, they all did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

The room was spacious and comfortable, and it had a nice view of the river. The bed was a bit too soft for my taste, next time we will book 2 queen beds instead of a king, then we won't wake each other up when turning around in our sleep. The room was quiet, apart from a barking dog which was in a nearby room. I am surprised that a nice hotel like this allows dogs in the rooms. Dog owners, please do other guests a favour and don't leave your dog alone in the room, not everyone enjoys the howling and barking.

The breakfast buffet was fabulous, you can choose between the buffet or something from the huge menu. The best breakfast we had on our 2-week trip, and the best hotel by far, too.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

During our most recent trip to Durango visiting family, we stayed at the Double Tree because the location is right in the middle of town and the rates were good. You can't complain about the location because its right on the river in Durango and you can walk to lots of shopping and restaurants. However, I can't exactly rave about it otherwise.

The hotel really needs to be updated, and it seems like they've started to work on it, but nothing really matches as the rooms, lobby and restaurant all seem to be from different vintages. The hotel and room wasn't dirty, but it wasn't spotless either, so if you're really picky about where you stay you won't be happy. That being said, the service was friendly and we got a good nights sleep because our room was quiet.

The restaurant and bar have okay food, but a bit overpriced considering the plate isn't exactly Gordon Ramsey. The restaurant does have a great view of the river, which is nice to watch while dining. The bar was dead on weekend night and a bit of a time warp in design; it still feels very 70s.

Overall, it isn't an uncomfortable place to stay and the location is nice, but if you've traveled much this isn't anything to write home about.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, Administrative Assistant to the General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 10, 2010
Thank you for your review of the Doubletree Hotel in Durango, Colorado. We appreciate your comments. We apologize for the room not being as clean as you expected, we strive for better than you rated us. Occasionally we do have issues with cleanliness due to new housekeepers etc. But generally that is not the case with our hotel. We hope that you will return to stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.