We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Durango” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best in Durango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

I used to stay at the Holiday Inn since it was inexpensive and relatively convenient to Steamworks. However, the Holiday Inn's rooms are very dated, drafty, small, and noisy. The Doubletree, which is usually only a few dollars more, is in a whole other class. Large, clean, quite rooms with great bathrooms make all the difference. The breakfast isn't bad, either; if you can snag it cheaply by pre-paying definitely go ahead and do so.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    279
    72
    26
    10
See reviews for
278
316
23
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We chose it because it offers a free shuttle to the airport, and it has a car rental desk in the lobby. We started and ended our trip through the south-west here.

Everyone at this hotel was very friendly and helpful, the drive of the shuttle bus, the receptionists, the staff in the restaurant, they all did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

The room was spacious and comfortable, and it had a nice view of the river. The bed was a bit too soft for my taste, next time we will book 2 queen beds instead of a king, then we won't wake each other up when turning around in our sleep. The room was quiet, apart from a barking dog which was in a nearby room. I am surprised that a nice hotel like this allows dogs in the rooms. Dog owners, please do other guests a favour and don't leave your dog alone in the room, not everyone enjoys the howling and barking.

The breakfast buffet was fabulous, you can choose between the buffet or something from the huge menu. The best breakfast we had on our 2-week trip, and the best hotel by far, too.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

During our most recent trip to Durango visiting family, we stayed at the Double Tree because the location is right in the middle of town and the rates were good. You can't complain about the location because its right on the river in Durango and you can walk to lots of shopping and restaurants. However, I can't exactly rave about it otherwise.

The hotel really needs to be updated, and it seems like they've started to work on it, but nothing really matches as the rooms, lobby and restaurant all seem to be from different vintages. The hotel and room wasn't dirty, but it wasn't spotless either, so if you're really picky about where you stay you won't be happy. That being said, the service was friendly and we got a good nights sleep because our room was quiet.

The restaurant and bar have okay food, but a bit overpriced considering the plate isn't exactly Gordon Ramsey. The restaurant does have a great view of the river, which is nice to watch while dining. The bar was dead on weekend night and a bit of a time warp in design; it still feels very 70s.

Overall, it isn't an uncomfortable place to stay and the location is nice, but if you've traveled much this isn't anything to write home about.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, Administrative Assistant to the General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 10, 2010
Thank you for your review of the Doubletree Hotel in Durango, Colorado. We appreciate your comments. We apologize for the room not being as clean as you expected, we strive for better than you rated us. Occasionally we do have issues with cleanliness due to new housekeepers etc. But generally that is not the case with our hotel. We hope that you will return to stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

Stayed for a night on a ski trip. I'm Hilton Diamond and we were ugraded to a large room. Also had goodies waiting for us in the room besides the usual chocolate chip cookies. Nice coffee service in the lobby. Breakfast was good though we were charged extra for anything more than the continental. The bathtub backed up but someone was there to fix it in 5 minutes. Also close to the center of the town and lots of good restaurants. We'll stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Top Contributor
478 reviews 478 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
389 helpful votes 389 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We travelled across the USA on a tour organised by Great Rail Journeys of York between the 7th and 27th October 2009. We spent a night at the Doubletree Hotel, Durango. We were accommodated in a large room with a balcony overlooking the Animas River at the rear of the property. The room was well appointed with 2 sinks, two large double beds and lots of toiletries in the Bathroom. We spent a comfortable night, a bonus being the excellent salt water swimming pool and the hot plunge pool. This was a very clean and comfortable hotel. The hotel is two blocks from Main Street and the Silverton Railroad Station.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

We had a wonderful trip to Durango-Albuquerque. It was so nice to return to such a great hotel. Balcony faced the river, miles of concrete walking trails out the back door, delicious cookies as a gift at check-in, large spacious rooms, gracious staff. Excellent location one block from downtown, but serene with the river and hills at your back door. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Situated by river but across a busy road to town centre. Well appointed rooms - try to get river view. Restaurant good for evening meal but became overcrowded with poor service at breakfast .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.