We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and roomy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and roomy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed in this hotel so that we can ride the Silverton train for the Polar Express. It was conveniently located across the street from the hotel. It was a pleasure staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    289
    74
    27
    10
See reviews for
286
327
27
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was our second visit to Durango, stayed at this hotel both times. This time I requested a river view, we got the room on the end with a wonderful balcony and view of the Animas river. It was nice to have a drink on the balcony and watch the river go by. We drove to Silverton one morning, on our way back my husband dropped me off downtown to do some shopping and it was an easy walk back to the hotel. We will definitely return to this hotel, since I'm sure we'll return to Durango!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Three of us visited Colorado to photograph Fall Color (Which was really beautiful this year and choose to stay at the Doubletree, Durango, CO. We found the hotel up to the typical great Hilton standards.

We were greeted upon arrival, given the traditional chocolate chip cookie and the check-in was handled efficiently. My room was clean , a fresh smelling. The bedding was wonderful!

I'll definitely make this hotel my hotel of choice when returing to Durango.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a room with a river view. This was a great location, just a block away from Main Street. The staff were very friendly on our arrival and were always helpful when we questioned them on restaurants, etc. The room was spacious, clean and well-appointed. It was very pleasant to sit on the balcony overlooking the Animas River, enjoying the scenery.

The Breakfast Room could have used more staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

We were at the Doubletree overnight only and wished we could have had a few more days after an arduous 3500 mile road trip. We barely had time to appreciate the hotel before having to leave. Our room - 312 - was very spacious and quiet, a balcony room overlooking the Animas river. I was delighted not to be in one of the rooms at the front of the hotel that overlook the parking lot and road.
The two queen beds were immaculate, with premium sheets and extremely comfortable mattresses. The air conditioning was quiet, and the television up to date. The bathroom and extra sink were recent renovations, and very nicely appointed. I imagine the hotel is progressively redecorating - as yet the carpet in our room had not been replaced, and was visibly patched, although very clean.
I've stayed at several other hotels in Durango and the Doubletree is easily the best. I will be checking in at this very nice hotel for all future visits.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

My wife and I and another couple spent five days at the Durango Doubletree Hotel, 2-5 Sept 2009. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every category. Rooms were spacious, well appointed and immaculate. Concierge service from the moment of arrival was outstanding. Front desk checkin was pleasnt , efficient and the staff called us by name thereafter everytime we passed. The Hotel's buffet breakfast was high quality and had everything hot or cold you could think of; all for $12.95. Restaurant service, even though a buffet, was very attentive to ensure a positive experience. The restaurant also has a great view of the Animas River. A nice feature of the hotel is that it's an easy walk to everything in Durango; train depot, restaurants and shops. It is also located adjacent to a bike and walking path that parallels the Animas River. This review may seem too complimentary, but my wife and I are frequent travelers and the Durango Dobletree experience proved exceptional at every level. It's obvious the hotel's management cares for its employees due to the positve attitude of all the staff we encountered.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed one night at this hotel so that we could take the family on the Polar Express Train. The room was huge for a "standard" type room and it was clean and nice. Staff was super nice and we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.