We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Utah
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“THE place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We loved it here even though it was a bit pricey. In the evenings you can sit out back and listen to the river flowing and the tubers having a good time. It is about a block walk to the Darango/Siverton train station. The rooms were great, very clean, however, no refrigerator. If we were to go back tomorrow we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    273
    70
    24
    10
See reviews for
270
293
22
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We were traveling with our dogs and were a little hesitant that the rooms would not be large enough. However, we had a deluxe king and it was perfect. The hotel exceeded our expectations... from the customer service to the location to the cleanliness. The bathrooms are also very, very roomy. I would not hesitate to stay here again... even if the rate is a little more than other area hotels. It's worth every penny! We walked along the path by the river every day ... and walked to dinner in downtown Durango every evening. Beautiful town... very friendly and laid-back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We were impressed from the moment we entered the lobby to check in. The lobby is spacious and well decorated with art from the area. The clerk greeted us with a smile and had us on our way to the room in minutes. Nice room, very nice. Very comfortable bed. Luxurious shower. Large LCD TV. The location is perfect for anything a visitor wishes to do while in Durango. Shopping, restaurants, the train, and shuttle service are within a couple of minutes walk. There's even a mountain stream just a few yards away in back of the hotel. The only negative, minor, is the guest laundry room. It's not easy to find. But, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Of course there are the warm cookies...it isn't a Doubletree without them! The beds are comfortable and bathrooms have been redesigned to feel more like you are in a spa than a hotel bathroom. Great updates!

The location is ideal. Simply walk across the street to hop on the Silverton/Durango train or for downtown nightlife. Stroll along the river for wildlife viewing and relaxation. Once you are at the hotel there isn't much need to drive anywhere!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brushy Creek, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed for four nights in late June. The Doubletree is a class of hotel we normally don't stay at, but lesser chains were nearly as expensive, plus the location, one block from the downtown historic area and the D&SNGRR depot, was a plus. So we took the plunge and paid a little more than normal for the convenience. The experience was positive, overall.

Having stayed at similar class hotels on business, I'd say this Doubletree is a lesser example of the brand. We were on the top ("fourth") floor on the 'city view' side, not wanting to waste $20/day on the view of the Animas River. The road noise from US550 was minimal and the room was quiet overall. The room itself was nicely appointed and fairly roomy. The staff was helpful, but all these benefits aren't worth the normal rate. We paid a discounted advanced purchase rate and took advantage of a $75 off promotion. At this rate the cost was about the same as the 2-2.5 star chains in the area, but there's no doubt you're staying in a resort area where hotel rooms are in high demand.

Due the the close by and numerous external options, we did not utllize the on-site restaurant or (ridiculously expensive) room service. There is a cafe on the river with extremely limited service hours - during weekdays only. Again, with superior options elsewhere we took advantage of them.

The hotel does have an indoor (heated) pool and spa, and there was a sauna in the men's dressing room (but not the women's). We took advantage of the pool, which oddly looks out into usually-closed river cafe, as well as the jacuzzi. There's also a small fitness room on-site with decent equipment. Showers are available in the pool area.

The hotel is also located on the Animas River trail, a paved trail running five miles along the river. Jogging, running, and biking is a simplematter of stepping out of the first floor exit and directly onto the trail. It would be nice if the hotel rented or otherwise made bicycles available.

Good: The entire downtown area is easy walking distance; nice rooms; quiet; very convenient to Durango & Silverton RR; river views available if you're willing to pay for them. Nicely appointed rooms. Tasty warm Doubletree cookies on check-in (and they gave us a couple more our last night there). Friendly front-desk and English-speaking cleaning staff (with names on carts, a nice touch).
Not good: Pricey unless you search out discounts; a smallish Doubletree with somewhat limited options for a hotel of this class.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed here for two nights on our trip through southwest Colorado, alternating between hotels and bed and breakfasts. We used Hilton points so we did not pay for the room. Our room was on the top floor, overlooking the Doubletree parking lot and beyond that, the historic area of Durango. It was very clean and comfortable. We had a small deck/sitting area. The bathroom was immaculate.

The train station for the Durango & Silverton Railroad is walking distance across the street, so if you plan to ride that, this hotel is very convenient. Otherwise, you will pay $7 to park for the train. The hotel is also walking distance to many jeep/hummer/rafting meeting places. You can walk to most of the downtown stores and restaurants, too, which is a plus because it does get crowded in the downtown area and the parking meters have a two-hour limit.

There is a supermarket adjacent to the hotel, which is convenient.

We ate dinner at the hotel one evening and breakfast there both mornings. No complaints - the food was good. There was a breakfast buffet both days or you could order from the menu. The dining area overlooks the river and offers a nice view. The hostess and wait staff were friendly and professional.

We used the Business Center to check our email - no charge for that. The connection was fast.

When checking in and out, they gave us free giant chocolate chip cookies - yummy!

This is really a nice place in a very convenient location. They were fully booked on the nights we stayed, so make reservations in advance.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast US
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Pros: Great location right downtown, wonderful Doubletree rooms, view of the river was enjoyable.
Cons: Tour busses, impersonal staff, basement pool, and kind of an awkward setup.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.