We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4 + WiFi
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

This hotel is great. They drove us up to the spa - 8 miles north of the hotel. They did not have to but the complementary shuttle was free. it is a block to the downtown area, so that is great. Its on the main road from the airport, so its easy to find also. I paid about $95 a night and that was reasonable. Indoor pool is nice. We had to ask them to turn up the heat in the hot tub, but they took care of that quickly. The work out room has brand new treadmills with flat screen tv's on each! They could use flat screen in the room though.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    313
    79
    27
    10
See reviews for
311
357
29
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The State of Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year's, 2008. The service was good, the food good and our room was lovely and spacious. I think it was newly renovated because everything was so nice. I have a bad back and have a lot of trouble when I'm away from my Tempurpedic, but their bed and linens were very comfortable.

The hotel sits on the Animas River. You will have a view of the river or downtown. Both are nice, but of course the river is special, especially if you are from flat country.

I would describe the lobby decor as gilded age1880's done in 1980. That being said, it was still nice. It's not the Four Seasons, but quite comfortable. The staff was gracious and accomodating.

If I could make one suggestion it would be that they provide doggie bags for when people walk their dogs. A dispenser as you start the trail around the hotel would be very helpful.

By the way, they recommended "Ice Pirates" snowmobiles to us . You have a fairly gentle drive to Molas Pass, about 15 miles from Durango, and is it ever worth it! Eric, Lizzy and their crew take you out in the national forest on groomed trails which is a lot more fun than riding in an open meadow with people going every which way. The first day Mike took us out and the second day Eric; both totally awesome. We were newbies, but they taught us all we needed to know to have a great time. The scenery was wonderful and the snowmobiles are a blast . My husband and daughter LOVED it. My daughter said "forget snowboarding, let's go snowmobiling again"!

  • Liked — The beds!!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

No question about it, this is a pricey choice for lodging. That said, it is hard to say that it was not worth it. You can't beat the location: from our suite, our family could literally walk ten steps to the Animas River. Shopping was close by, as were a number of great restaurants and attractions.

Rooms were spacious and clean. Staff was friendly. Two nights, and not one complaint.

  • Liked — Location, Room Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

Probably the best hotel in Durango. We stayed here for three fantastic nights in October. The hotel is large and modern, but still retains charm and character. We had a great room on the top floor overlooking the river. The room was large, clean and modern and boasted a pleasant balcony. The hotel staff were helpful and obliging. The only drawback was the buffet breakfast in the restaurant was awful – cold over cooked food and stale pastries. You are better crossing over the road and having a breakfast at Denny’s.

The hotels location is great, only a five-minute walk from the towns main street with numerous restaurants and shops. This is old town America where people are friendly and have time to pass pleasantries with you. The Rocky Mountain Chocolate shop, near to the station, is a must – their toffee apples are to die for.

The main attraction however is the Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Rail Road (DSNGRR), which has an excellent museum and runs a daily service during the spring, summer and fall up to the old mining town of Silverton. The journey to Silverton and back is an all day event, but so worth it to be pulled by the vintage steam trains. Consider upgrading and travelling in the open glass roofed silver vista carriage. We went in mid October and yes it was cold, but the staff provide you with blankets and as much Coffee and hot chocolate as you can drink!
Hotel : 10/10
Hotel Food : 2/10
Durango : 10/10
D&SNGRR 10/10

Go to Durango - Stay a few days - enjoy!

  • Liked — The location close to Durango and the D&SNGRR
  • Disliked — Hotel Food Yuck!
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho NM
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

This is a very nice hotel, walking distance from town. The only negative we had was our room was right next to the soda machine, which was very loud every time the compressor turned on. Other than that, the breakfast was very good, and they take pets. We plan on going back in a couple of weeks. This is a top notch place to stay in a great town.

  • Liked — Clean and nice restaurant on site
  • Disliked — The coke machine next to our room very noisy.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

We found this to be a really first class hotel.
The room was everything we would wish it to be and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful.
We didn't eat dinner in the hotel but the breakfast was excellent and the waitress was brilliant. (Strangely the two guys on duty with her looked a bit lost – but perhaps it was their first day).

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

Like a lot of people, we have only praise for this hotel. Rooms overlooking the river are not essential, views of Durango are also good. The restaurant offers good food, river views and there is a nice little lounge. This hotel is within easy walking distance of the town, but as there are a lot of students about at weekends, some of the restaurants/lounges can be crowded. It was good to retreat to the hotel and eat in relatively peaceful surroundings. We thought the use of wood everywhere in the hotel was impressive and different. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Its situation and on-site lounge & restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing at all.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.