We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Recoup” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4 + WiFi
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Recoup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

After camping back to back nights through national parks, we ended up in quaint Durango at the Doubletree. We had a room with a view of the Animas River and easy access to it, as well as historic downtown Durango. Perfect spot to enjoy the town and it's sights. Walking distance. JP was absolutely fantastic getting us quickly checked in and into our room knowing how far we'd traveled! And great restaurant recs!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the compliments of our hotel. We appreciate the fact that you chose our hotel for your Durango stay and pleased that we were able to help you recoup from back to back
camping. We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    313
    79
    28
    10
See reviews for
312
358
29
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The staff at the Durango DoubleTree was gracious, competent and much appreciated. Our stay was very relaxing and low stress, just as we had hoped for on our vacation. The hotel is only a couple blocks from the Durango Silverton Narrow Gage RR station making is a very convenient location when taking the train.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to learn that your stay with us was a good one. We thank you for the compliments.
We would like to welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Choose the Doubletree over more historic hotels in town for the view / location. The hotel is easy to find, very close to historic Durango (couple of block walk), and right on the Animas River.

They have a special floor just for HiltonHonors members (quiet - away from tourists) - and my room overlooked the river. I spent my evening with the sliding door open, enjoying the cool evening and listening to the river flow by. Absolutely fantastic way to spend the night.

Room was clean, quiet and nothing to complain about. Grocery store next door - McD's across the street - Historic Durango 2 blocks up.

I am a fairly picky person - and I can't think of a single negative about this hotel. Thanks for the nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate getting feedback from our guests. Our Hilton Honor's program is really great with lots of benefits for our guests. We would like to welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times. This time we had a trailer with an ATV, so wanted a location where we could park and walk to downtown/restaurants. This was perfect - we walked to dinner both nights. Hotel is a little dated as well as the rooms, but clean and neat. Staff was friendly. I rented a bike next door at Mountain Waters - don't do that - bike was poor quality but it was close to the hotel and the river trail was less than a 1/4 mile away. After I rented and complained, they said they were selling their bikes soon and refunded the $25 they charged for a 2 hour rental.

Room Tip: Back side on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We noted your comment concerning the bike rental and will advise our staff of other rental options. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future whenever your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Loved this hotel beside the river. The staff were extra friendly. The prices are a little high, but it is a resort area. Very close to train. You can walk everywhere from hotel. Grocery store with a Starbucks right beside hotel. Easy access to Mesa Verde and New Mexico.

Room Tip: Ask for a river front room. Ground level opens out to beautiful river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do have a great location, on the beautiful Animas River, great river walking path behind the hotel, close to Durango and all the amenities it has to offer. We are so pleased that you chose our hotel for your recent Durango Stay. We welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Very quiet rooms, excellent breakfast and friendly staff. This hotel is right on the Animas River with a nice walking jogging path, It is one block from town and much quieter and less expensive than down town hotels. We will be back

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Double Tree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your compliments. We are happy to learn that you will stay with us again. We welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We spent a night at the Doubletree in Durango during the summer. The hotel is located within walking distance of downtown's main street, with nice access to restaurants and shopping. You need to cross one large intersection to get there but it has good signal that facilitate pedestrian crossing. The hotel is also across a parking lot from a large supermarket in case you need to stock up on any supplies.

Check-in and check-out were handled seamlessly. The room itself was well-furnished, comfortable and quiet. The internet service was free, easy to use and reliable. The cable service in the room was outstanding; among other free offerings, the channel lineup included the NFL Network, which is unusual.

The back of the hotel faces a river with a nice multi-use trail running along it in either direction for several miles. It was a good place to get some running in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. the DoubleTree by Hilton on Trip Advisor. It is always great to hear what our guests have to stay. It sounds as though you had a good stay. Our river view rooms are very popular. Good tip! We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back any time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.