We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you are looking for a conveniently located hotel close to downtown then this hotel is good. The hotel is overpriced for the service you receive. Nothing is free or included in the price of the room. You can get the same room amenities at a hotel half the price. They do not have a continental breakfast available free of charge it cost $10 and was mediocre at best. I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments. I hope that you will consider our off-season offerings that are substantially more affordable, but I do understand that the summer is much higher. We do thank you for staying with us and of course welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    284
    73
    27
    10
See reviews for
283
323
26
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Tx.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I spent one great night Aug. 1st and again on Aug. 9th. Loved the décor. The wood carved murals were unbelievable. The view from our balcony of the Animas River and mountains in the background was breath taking. I love the breakfast buffet and our server. We also had an evening meal in the outdoor café. The live music was entertaining. This was a perfect end to my Co. trip.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a river view. And dogs are welcome.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great to be given chocolate chip cookies and bottled water.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always love getting feedback from our guests. We're thrilled that we were the perfect end to your trip.
Thanks for staying with us. come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Really nice hotel. However...very outdated...smelled like moldy basement...Needs update. Great location close to downtown strip...Hotel employees very nice and friendly... We would return if we were in the area...Durango is a nice little city.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. You'll be interested to learn that we are in the planning stages for a renovation for our hotel. We are waiting for corporate approvals. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back any time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Travelling as part of a tour group - we arrived early evening, but the check-in was brilliant and we were in our room in no time.

We overlooked the river and it was pleasant sitting on the balcony watching the torrents of water in the swollen river (due to the snow melt we were told). Good sized room and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean.

Location was good - we were able to walk into town and have a meal and although not a big place, Durango has lots of character. Sadly, our visit there was short, so didn't get much chance to explore, but it's a place we'd love to go back to.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel -the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We hope that you would come back and enjoy Durango again, there is so much to do and see in this area. We welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
litchfield park, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Love the location- wonderful views of the mountains and the Animas River. Very comfortable room - could use an update on carpet. Restaurant is fair to good- some items great- other disappoint. But over all a great spot to stay in town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. thanks for choosing our hotel for your Durango stay. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were very please to find availability at this hotel after an unpleasant experience at another hotel. This hotel was much nicer, and much more comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Durango. Very close to downtown shopping and dining.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are always appreciative of feedback from our guests. We are happy that we were able to "rescue" you from an unpleasant situation. Thanks for staying with us, we welcome you back anytime you are in the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our room was a river view and it was so nice to look out at the river going by, the rafters, kayaks and tubers. Everyone at this hotel was friendly and pleasant. Durango seems to be bit expensive so this hotel is in keeping with the prices. The airport shuttle made it possible to do w/o renting a car. It is within walking distance of the train, trolley and downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us. We do have a great location right on the beautiful Animas River. We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.