We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
FORT WAYNE IN, United States
1 review
“Good Facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Good location, amenities, very good condition for an older property. Convenient to walk around Durango, use the bike path, ride the train and ready access to main roads. Food at restaurants good and well prepared.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
Its always great to get feedback from our guests and learn about their stay with us. We are
pleased that you had a good stay with us and welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    299
    77
    27
    10
See reviews for
299
338
28
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel was very nice. We had a balcony that overlooked the river and a walking path and it was beautiful and very peaceful. The staff was very helpful. The food at the restaurant was very good, although we only ate breakfast there. The hotel was in a great location. It was close to a grocery store and was within walking distance of downtown Durango. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests and learn about their stay with us. We are happy to learn that your stay was great. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back to stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The staff was great. Maintenance fix a sliding door quickly and left a nice note. Front desk staff remembered it was my birthday. Banisters, all glass, push handles for doors so filthy we used our shoulders to get in and out of the building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments. We had our staff work on the public area cleanliness issues that you mentioned and will ensure that this is corrected for the future. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back any time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great facility located on the river and just two blocks from downtown Durango. Very welcoming... especially the warm chocolate chip cookie when registering. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you enjoyed our famous chocolate chip cookies we bake fresh every morning. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The room was nice but the refrigerator was full of someone else's food. We were on the ground floor which was convenient but the patio was full of leaves, dirt and cobwebs. Seems like it was nobody's responsibility to clean it. The shuttle to the airport was convenient as we really did not need a car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments. We have had our team work on the issues that you mentioned so they will not happen again. We thank you for staying with us and greatly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado Springs, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were there to attend a wedding and arrived before check out time. Our wedding was at two o'clock and I explained to the girl at the desk our dilemma and immediately she said she understood and would get two rooms ready so we wouldn't miss our wedding that was scheduled at two o'clock in Bailey, CO some 18 miles out of Durango. She was terrific and kept her promise. Not only did she keep her promise but we had ample time to get ready and made it to our destination in plenty of time. She was kind, sweet, understanding and I couldn't say enough about her training in this area. Thank you to whoever hired this wonderful, young lady.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango. We appreciate your taking the time to commend the service and we are very glad that it worked out that you had time to get ready for the wedding. We thank you for staying with us. We would like to welcome you to stay again any time your travels bring you back to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Double Tree by Hilton for a week while on summer vacation in Durango and were very satisfied with the comfortable beds, room service and quiet location of this hotel in the heart of Durango. We particularly enjoyed the balcony overlooking the Animas river and Animas River Trail. It was most relaxing to listen to the flowing river water and the sound of the Durango & Silverton Train whistle in the distance. We enjoyed a romantic picnic on the balcony and watching the whitewater river rafters float by. In addition to enjoying the many outstanding hotel amenities like the spa, pool and river cafe, we were very pleased to get a most reasonable rate with the Hilton Honors program. I would highly recommend staying at the Double Tree Hilton in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. We do have a great location on the Animas River but still close to town and all that Durango has to offer. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.