We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room overlooking the Animas River” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4 + WiFi
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durango, United States
1 review
“Nice room overlooking the Animas River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The room was nice but the refrigerator was full of someone else's food. We were on the ground floor which was convenient but the patio was full of leaves, dirt and cobwebs. Seems like it was nobody's responsibility to clean it. The shuttle to the airport was convenient as we really did not need a car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments. We have had our team work on the issues that you mentioned so they will not happen again. We thank you for staying with us and greatly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    313
    79
    27
    10
See reviews for
311
357
29
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado Springs, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were there to attend a wedding and arrived before check out time. Our wedding was at two o'clock and I explained to the girl at the desk our dilemma and immediately she said she understood and would get two rooms ready so we wouldn't miss our wedding that was scheduled at two o'clock in Bailey, CO some 18 miles out of Durango. She was terrific and kept her promise. Not only did she keep her promise but we had ample time to get ready and made it to our destination in plenty of time. She was kind, sweet, understanding and I couldn't say enough about her training in this area. Thank you to whoever hired this wonderful, young lady.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango. We appreciate your taking the time to commend the service and we are very glad that it worked out that you had time to get ready for the wedding. We thank you for staying with us. We would like to welcome you to stay again any time your travels bring you back to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Double Tree by Hilton for a week while on summer vacation in Durango and were very satisfied with the comfortable beds, room service and quiet location of this hotel in the heart of Durango. We particularly enjoyed the balcony overlooking the Animas river and Animas River Trail. It was most relaxing to listen to the flowing river water and the sound of the Durango & Silverton Train whistle in the distance. We enjoyed a romantic picnic on the balcony and watching the whitewater river rafters float by. In addition to enjoying the many outstanding hotel amenities like the spa, pool and river cafe, we were very pleased to get a most reasonable rate with the Hilton Honors program. I would highly recommend staying at the Double Tree Hilton in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. We do have a great location on the Animas River but still close to town and all that Durango has to offer. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We checked in a bit early, and they accommodated us...probably because we looked hot! Room was great, nice and cool. They gave us a couple of cookies which were great. We used the complimentary shuttle to drive us to the Elks Lodge for a after ride party. We returned and I asked what it would take to get two more cookies and they gladly gave us two more. A nice desert after our event. The staff was great, even with us dressed like "Bikers." I would definitely stay here again. Great job by staff.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your compliments of our hotel. We are pleased to learn that you would stay with us again and we welcome you back anytime. Glad you liked our cookies and that your stay was a pleasant one. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

After spending 4 days in Durango, we thought this was the best hotel in town. Why? It was on the river, on the walking/bicycle trail, close to downtown, close to grocery and Starbucks, with a great little outdoor cafe.

We had a room overlooking the river with a small but nice balcony. The room is large with an updated bathroom with quality bath products. It has a small fridge and microwave. It was very comfortable and quiet.

The price is pretty high but that seems to be the Durango way.

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel did separate garbage in rooms for recycling.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always
great to get feedback from our guests. Thank you for your compliments of our hotel, We thank you for staying with us. We would like to welcome you back to stay again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

clean but average rooms. limited cable tv. mini-fridge didn't work properly, either off or froze everything. screen door on the slider was not functioning properly. no breakfast included as most do these days. free parking, near bike/walking path. near grocery store and within walking distance to the Durango/Silverton Railroad

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments. We've had our staff work on the issues you mentioned so they
won't happen again. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back anytime
you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have stayed at a doubletree before and have found them to be very nice overall. I stayed here as a matter of convenience for only one night until I could get into a cabin on the river. That being said, the smell of the room is what hit me first. The old carpet smelled like a bad shampoo jog. The ac barely pumped air into the rom from the one wall vent. I wouldn't be so hard on this place if the price of the room wasn't so high! We're talking about 5 star rates for a 2.5 star room. Wont stay again...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. You'll be interested to learn that we are in the planning stages for a renovation for our hotel, we are waiting for corporate approvals prior to starting. We apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and sorry to learn that you will not consider staying with us again. We know that you have many choices when selecting a hotel and we welcome you back any time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.