We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4 + WiFi
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Summer Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Double Tree by Hilton for a week while on summer vacation in Durango and were very satisfied with the comfortable beds, room service and quiet location of this hotel in the heart of Durango. We particularly enjoyed the balcony overlooking the Animas river and Animas River Trail. It was most relaxing to listen to the flowing river water and the sound of the Durango & Silverton Train whistle in the distance. We enjoyed a romantic picnic on the balcony and watching the whitewater river rafters float by. In addition to enjoying the many outstanding hotel amenities like the spa, pool and river cafe, we were very pleased to get a most reasonable rate with the Hilton Honors program. I would highly recommend staying at the Double Tree Hilton in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. We do have a great location on the Animas River but still close to town and all that Durango has to offer. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    343
    91
    30
    11
See reviews for
347
391
31
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We checked in a bit early, and they accommodated us...probably because we looked hot! Room was great, nice and cool. They gave us a couple of cookies which were great. We used the complimentary shuttle to drive us to the Elks Lodge for a after ride party. We returned and I asked what it would take to get two more cookies and they gladly gave us two more. A nice desert after our event. The staff was great, even with us dressed like "Bikers." I would definitely stay here again. Great job by staff.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your compliments of our hotel. We are pleased to learn that you would stay with us again and we welcome you back anytime. Glad you liked our cookies and that your stay was a pleasant one. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

After spending 4 days in Durango, we thought this was the best hotel in town. Why? It was on the river, on the walking/bicycle trail, close to downtown, close to grocery and Starbucks, with a great little outdoor cafe.

We had a room overlooking the river with a small but nice balcony. The room is large with an updated bathroom with quality bath products. It has a small fridge and microwave. It was very comfortable and quiet.

The price is pretty high but that seems to be the Durango way.

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel did separate garbage in rooms for recycling.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always
great to get feedback from our guests. Thank you for your compliments of our hotel, We thank you for staying with us. We would like to welcome you back to stay again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

clean but average rooms. limited cable tv. mini-fridge didn't work properly, either off or froze everything. screen door on the slider was not functioning properly. no breakfast included as most do these days. free parking, near bike/walking path. near grocery store and within walking distance to the Durango/Silverton Railroad

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments. We've had our staff work on the issues you mentioned so they
won't happen again. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back anytime
you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have stayed at a doubletree before and have found them to be very nice overall. I stayed here as a matter of convenience for only one night until I could get into a cabin on the river. That being said, the smell of the room is what hit me first. The old carpet smelled like a bad shampoo jog. The ac barely pumped air into the rom from the one wall vent. I wouldn't be so hard on this place if the price of the room wasn't so high! We're talking about 5 star rates for a 2.5 star room. Wont stay again...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. You'll be interested to learn that we are in the planning stages for a renovation for our hotel, we are waiting for corporate approvals prior to starting. We apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and sorry to learn that you will not consider staying with us again. We know that you have many choices when selecting a hotel and we welcome you back any time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Doubletree in Durango is in a lovely location right on the river and only a short stroll from an array of good restaurants. The hotel is well appointed and the reception and dining areas are bright and fresh looking. The rooms were also nice and it is certainly worth booking one with a river view. The room had almost everything you will need including a fridge and microwave, however, it did lack a safe. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

A nice place to stay if you end up in Durango.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and our hotel. We thank you for staying with us and we welcome you back to stay anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was my second visit in about 4 years. This is a very comfortable, convenient property. The river view is tops. The staff are very friendly. The breakfast buffet was a great start to the day. (Ask about the off-menu breakfast panini's that are included with the buffet.)

Room Tip: Almost all upper level rooms have a balcony (city and river view). One except is the room next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We do have a great location on the beautiful Animas River and close to downtown and the Durango Silverton Train. We do have a few rooms without balconies, as you say, so guests need to be sure to ask for a balcony room. We know comfort and convenience are important to our guests. Thank you for staying with us. We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#1 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.