We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, OR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is located on the banks of the Animas river which a lovely paved walking path. It is just a couple of blocks to the heart the of city, including restaurants, shops, pubs, and the historic Durango Silverton Train Station. We found the rooms to spacious and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and attractive. We especially enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant. They had some unique and delicious menu items.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to hear from our guests about their stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and location that is so convenient to everything in Durango. We would like to welcome you back to stay again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    264
    66
    23
    10
See reviews for
267
272
20
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Double Tree in Durango CO to celebrate our 35th Anniversary. When the staff learned of this, they sent up chocolate strawberries to our room. Every person who worked there was kind, attentive, courteous. This was the best hotel experience we have ever had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Our congratulations to you on 35 years of marriage -that is a wonderful accomplishment. We are pleased that your stay with us was to your satisfaction. We would like to welcome you back again when ever your travels bring you back to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We experienced wonderful service. We greatly enjoyed the hot cookies and bottled water available for the asking at the front desk. This was an excellent Location. The room was large with Great views of the river. We Look forward to returning in the coming years.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We're pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. We thank you for choosing our hotel and welcome you back to stay again when ever your travels bring you to Durango again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkburnett, Texas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Location is everything. Back doors of the rooms open up to the river. You can sit out on the patio and watch people float by. They have live music out by the water and a great gift shop and pool and hot tub. Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: 1st floor facing the river is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased to learn that you love our location, it is great right on the Animas River and close to town and all that Durango has to offer. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your Durango stay and welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Amenities were too expensive. To have a glass of wine delivered via room service was $11.00!! Too expensive for the level of the room and of the location. Shame on Doubletree! The breakfast was very tasty and provided a lot of choices for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We love getting feedback from our guests. We thank you for your compliments of our hotel and esepcially the breakfast, so glad that you enjoyed the variety offered. We would like to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Friendship, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is an amazing hotel that is close to everything. It sits next to the Animas river. The double queen rooms have views of the river and I believe that they also have balconies. The town of Durango is within walking distance from the hotel. The breakfast at the hotel was very affordable if you get the dream package. The cost of the buffet is $16.95 per person, yet the dream package is only $20.00 for two people. The buffet is included in the dream package. The only negative in reference to the hotel is the location with respect to the train. There is a train that runs through town and started blowing the whistle and train horn at around 7:30 AM

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always
welcome feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the wonderful town of Durango. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back when ever your travels bring you back to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a very nice room on the 3rd Floor, 2 separate beds, and a fridge and a microwave! Not much in Durango, but good supermarket (Albertsons) opposite which is handy for fruit/beers that you can keep cool in the fridge

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and our guest rooms. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back when ever you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.