We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We experienced wonderful service. We greatly enjoyed the hot cookies and bottled water available for the asking at the front desk. This was an excellent Location. The room was large with Great views of the river. We Look forward to returning in the coming years.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We're pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. We thank you for choosing our hotel and welcome you back to stay again when ever your travels bring you to Durango again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    294
    74
    27
    10
See reviews for
295
333
27
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burkburnett, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Location is everything. Back doors of the rooms open up to the river. You can sit out on the patio and watch people float by. They have live music out by the water and a great gift shop and pool and hot tub. Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: 1st floor facing the river is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased to learn that you love our location, it is great right on the Animas River and close to town and all that Durango has to offer. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your Durango stay and welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Amenities were too expensive. To have a glass of wine delivered via room service was $11.00!! Too expensive for the level of the room and of the location. Shame on Doubletree! The breakfast was very tasty and provided a lot of choices for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We love getting feedback from our guests. We thank you for your compliments of our hotel and esepcially the breakfast, so glad that you enjoyed the variety offered. We would like to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Friendship, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is an amazing hotel that is close to everything. It sits next to the Animas river. The double queen rooms have views of the river and I believe that they also have balconies. The town of Durango is within walking distance from the hotel. The breakfast at the hotel was very affordable if you get the dream package. The cost of the buffet is $16.95 per person, yet the dream package is only $20.00 for two people. The buffet is included in the dream package. The only negative in reference to the hotel is the location with respect to the train. There is a train that runs through town and started blowing the whistle and train horn at around 7:30 AM

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always
welcome feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the wonderful town of Durango. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back when ever your travels bring you back to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a very nice room on the 3rd Floor, 2 separate beds, and a fridge and a microwave! Not much in Durango, but good supermarket (Albertsons) opposite which is handy for fruit/beers that you can keep cool in the fridge

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and our guest rooms. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back when ever you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great hotel and very comfortable bed. Loved the cookies! The hotel is a couple of blocks from the downtown Durango area. Have to cross very busy street but does have pedestrian crossing areas. Free parking is a plus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to get feedback from our guests. We agree, our Riverside rooms are the best, with the views and the sound of the river at night, its great. We welcome you back to stay again when your travels bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 12 nights, my room faced the road and was on the first floor. I could not hear the road noise, wish I had a room facing the river. The pool is tiny, so don't come expecting laps. The food at this hotel is terrible and way over priced, a shame because if they had decent food at reasonable prices I feel they would get more business thus make more money. With such great choices of food less than a 5 minute walk to Main St., why would anyone settle for sub-par food. This hotel is great for its location and service. My biggest problem and I think for many people it wouldn't be, is that I like to be warm, really warm while sleeping. They have set their thermostats not to get warmer than 76F and I like 78F, I would have to ask there maintenance person to come and change the temperature but every 78 hours it would revert back again, I had to do this 4 times on the trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always
great to get feedback from our guests. We have referred your comments about our hotel's food to our Chef for review and improvements. We apologize that your stay was less than perfect. Our goal is to have each guest stay to their satisfaction. We hope that the next time you are in the Durango area that you would stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.