We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 Years in a Row” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“7 Years in a Row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We've stayed in the exact same room at the DoubleTree in Durango for the past 7 consecutive Spring Breaks and will continue to do so as long as we are able. We love the location - it's literally right on the Animas River and just a very short walk into downtown. The room is large and is the perfect home base for our hikes and day trips. But the thing that makes this particular hotel worth coming back each year are the folks that work there. Jamie has been seeing that we get "our" same room every year and Alma, who has been keeping that room spotless for us, has become a friend over the years. Stephanie and the others at the Edgewater Grill remember us each year and always make us feel welcomed home.

It’s always hard coming back from vacation, but everything about the Durango Hilton makes it even more so…

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We will be sure to pass on your compliments of our staff to them.
We look forward to your 8th stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    265
    68
    23
    10
See reviews for
267
276
20
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We are very grateful for Double Tree's amenities while we were in Durango for a family memorial. Thank you for a very comfortable stay. The staff was efficient. The restaurant was exceptional. We will definitely stay at the Double Tree the next time we are in Durango.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We're pleased we were able to accommodate your family during that very difficult time. We are happy to learn that you'd stay with us anytime you are in Durango.
We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Easy check in and wonderful staff made this a great place to stay. The location is within walking distance to the downtown, makes it easy to experience Durango on foot. The room was spacious and the balcony view was incredible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you have found our hotel a great place for a business stay. We thank you for your business and welcome you back when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times when skiing at Durango Ski Resort. The hotel has an excellent location, a very short walk to downtown Durango. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The service is very good and the staff is always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its always
great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased to learn that you like to stay with us when you come to Durango for ski trips. We thank you for your business and welcome you back to stay with us again for the next ski trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Actually had a good stay and had reservations to stay again for 2 days after ski week. Call back and cancelled the later reservations 36-40 hrs before check-in and was charged $108 because I didn't cancel a full 48 hours in advance. Unique to this location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. In checking with our Accounting Department we found that a refund has been issued for the cancellation charges, we apologize for the confusion about that. We do hope that in the future travels you will be making that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We asked for extra pillow and those were already in the room. Wifi was excellent and fast. Breakfast spinach omelet was beautiful & tasty and my husband's corn beef hash was excellent according to him.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
It's always great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a good stay
with us and that we were able to provide the level of personal service that you desire. We would like to welcome you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wonderful hotel located on the river. A real plus is the bike/running path right outside the door. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Add the warm cookies to the scenery and friendly atmosphere and you are all set for a great get away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate feedback from our guests. We thank you for your compliments of our hotel and welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.