We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Rooms, but felt unwelcome as a family with kids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Rooms, but felt unwelcome as a family with kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I don't normally do reviews, but since I was asked I thought I would mention a few things. Pro's : Comfortable, clean room. Nice view. Excellent indoor pool. Con's : No Complimentary breakfast - (We normally stay at Embassy suites and enjoy and have come to expect a great breakfast as part of the room fee). Noise complaints - Not from us thinking it was too loud, but the front desk called us saying that we had been turned in for being too loud. It was barely 10:00 pm my 4 year old daughter had taken a bath and got soap in her eyes, she was crying for 2 minutes at most and in bed by the time they called. So the rest of the stay we felt we could only whisper in our room. It would have been nice if the front desk would have investigated before assuming we were being unruly and calling to ask us to keep it down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We apologize for making you feel unwelcome, that is the one thing we do not want to have happen. We love having families staying at our hotel. We know that there is bound to be the noise factor, it can't be helped. We will remind our staff of the importance of finding a balance with our guests. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    289
    74
    27
    10
See reviews for
286
327
27
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Love this hotel. Excellent location on the river. Free shuttle to and from airport is great. Front desk staff terrific. Breakfast pricey though. I have to write enough for 200 characters minimum. Does this criteria really prevent my rating from being posted?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We're so pleased to learn that you love our hotel. We will pass your compliments of our front desk staff on to them. We thank you for your business and welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonito, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We chose Doubletree because they allow pets at a MUCH more reasonable rate than other hotels, and we were not disappointed with the service, comfort of the room, and cleanliness. I asked for a room on the river side which was very convenient to take our dog out for a walk. Noise did not seem to be an issue, and the view of the river was very relaxing. I will definitely be back the next time I need a room in Durango.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We couldnt agree with you more about our location, its great, close to everything and on the banks of the beautiful Animas River. We are pleased that you found our rooms to be comfortable and that you had a good stay with us. We thank you for your business and welcome you back when ever your travels bring you to Durango again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Overall, the staff was the best experience. Front desk was quick and helpful. Ordered room service and the person on the phone was kind and helpful explaining the food. He went above and beyond in the service. We will stay here again and recommend it to others. Worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is great to get your feedback and learn that you are satisfied! Thats what we want....every guest satisfied. We know our guests have many choices when selecting a hotel and we thank you for your business. We welcome you back to stay with us again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay in six months. I love this hotel. JP was working the desk. He was so professional in October that I actually remembered him. Maybe it was he was incredibly polite and professional again. I was sick when I checked and the restaurant recommended a clam chowder that was excellent. I had a room with a view of the river (I highly recommend) and the microwave and refrigerator were nice. I took advantage of the airport shuttle. The DT is possibly the only hotel that offers a complimentary shuttle. It was convenient. I also grabbed coffee at the Starbucks in the grocery store (Albertsons) that was walking distance from hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate feedback from our guests. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay wth us and we will be sure to pass your compliments of our front desk agent on to him. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you back to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northglenn, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The DoubleTree in Durango offers a great location along the Animas River as well as being close to The Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge and downtown. The warm cookie upon arrival is always a treat and the staff is pleasant and profession. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We want to thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback. Its always great to learn that our guests like our location and that they feel like we have treated them professionally. We thank you for your business and welcome you back anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Utah
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My stay here was short and very nice. The Room was clean and it had plenty of room compared to other hotels of this size that I have stayed at.

The Room was comfortable and I had a nice view of the River.

Staff was friendly and very helpful.

They do not have a complimentary continental breakfast. They do however have a restaurant on site if you decide to eat in. All major attractions seem to be in walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you found our hotel to meet your expectations and we thank you for staying with us. We welcome you back to stay again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.