We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky Mountain Family Vaca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Charleson, SC, United States
1 review
“Rocky Mountain Family Vaca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great Location - within walking distance of shops, food and the train! We greatly enjoyed the Polar Express - complete with Santa, hot chocolate and cookies. Grocery store directly next to the hotel - convenient for any needs. Breakfast in the hotel was expensive so we opted to walk to a French Bakery a block up the street - wonderful food!! Family Friendly town and hotel - beautiful view of the stream off balcony. Will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We welcome you back when ever your travels bring you to Durango again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    250
    58
    20
    10
See reviews for
250
255
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hempstead, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I can't say enough about this Double Tree property -- the location is perfect, the staff welcoming, the ambience inviting, and the rooms clean and comfy. LOVE that it is a five minute walk to the historic downtown. We stayed in a king suite (facing the historic downtown) for three days preceding a business meeting, and then switched to a river-view double queen for the three day meeting. Both rooms had balconies, were very clean and the beds comfortable, but the suite was really large and roomy. If I had to pick the perfect room I would suggest a king suite facing the river (for privacy -- you may prefer looking towards the historic downtown.) Also, the top floor is the Hilton Honors floor -- we are members and stayed there. I really love the ambience of the hotel lobby and hallways -- you just know you are in Colorado and near a historic area. Also, there is a supermarket next door, and we could trot over to buy snacks and whatever toiletries we had forgotten (we always forget something!) The breakfast buffet was a great value extensive and inexpensive (we did into run into anything stale or inedible -- it was all fresh and yummy.) Only two negatives: one, that the calories were printed on the back of the cookie -- I'd just rather not know! and two, one evening the entire fourth floor hallway was heavy with the smell of marijuana smoke. Yes, it is legal to smoke pot in Colorado, but not in public places, and certainly not on a non-smoking floor. The GM took care of it immediately, but it took a while for the smell to dissipate.

Room Tip: Beceom a Hilton Honors member and you'll get a fourth (top) floor room. I liked overlooking both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. it is great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a "perfect stay" as that is our goal for each and every guest. We welcome you back when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

From the reception, to the clean and comfortable room, to the delicious breakfast, this hotel provided a great night's rest after a long day of travel. As a bonus, the decor is old West, with lots of wood and brass. Great ambiance. And, there is a shuttle driver ready and willing to take you wherever you want to go in Durango. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a good nights rest after a long day of travel. Happy to learn that you would stay with us again. We welcome you back anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibenham, Norwich
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We only had a single night here in our three-week tour of America, but it was thoroughly enjoyable. We had enjoyed the fantastic ride through the valleys (from Rockwood) over the Durango & Silverton Railway and had a short wait for the rooms. But it was well worth the wait, with a terrific ground floor view over the river at the rear of the hotel. At the other end, it was a little trek into town, where we enjoyed a number of shops. This was probably our first look at the real USA - after staying on Broadway (NY), Jersey Ave (Washington) and next top the Magnificent Mile (Chicago).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback. We're so pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy Durango, a small but delightful American town. We welcome you back to stay with us again should your travels bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was disappointed with the breakfast on this trip the usually great granola was uneatable. It was bunch in large pieces and hard to eat. When asked to have it corrected it really was no better. The shuttle is always great the drivers very courteous and helpful

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback. We've forwarded your comment about the granola to our Chef for improvements. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel about 5 times now and each time the experience has been great. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very clean and updated. The hotel has a great charm about it with beautiful woodwork in the lobby and the Animas River running in the back. We always have the breakfast buffet at the hotel which is ample and delicious. We highly recommend this hotel for families on vacation or someone on a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you are a returning guest and that your stay met your expectations. We welcome you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our overnight stay in this hotel. The room was very comfortable and the rate very competitive and reasonable. The view from the room in the morning was nice. The room was very quite and we were not disturbed by any other guests. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you had a good stay with us, that you found our "Sweet Dreams" beds comfortable and that you had a good nights sleep. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.