We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Modern yet nicely decorated in the southwest style. Provided breakfast and dinner which was tasty. Service was wonderful. Location perfect for going downtown. It was a good 45 minutes from Mesa Verde Park but an easy drive. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Pick the river view for even better atmosphere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    231
    56
    19
    10
See reviews for
224
232
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hickory Creek TX, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This property offers quiet and spacious rooms. The hotel is located in an excellent area of Durango making easy access to historical Durango and major highways. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the river. It was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you found our hotel to your liking, that you appreciated the great location, the Animas River at our back door. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It is always a wonderful experience to stay at The DoubleTree in Durango Co. We always request a riverfront room. It is so very relaxing to watch the Animas roll on by. During the summer months we enjoy taking our entire extended family to enjoy a funfilled river rafting trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We couldnt agree with you more about our location and the beautiful Animas River right at our back door. We know that our guests have many choices when selecting a hotel and we thank you for your business. We welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the large size of the room and the view and sound of the river. You could leave the sliding glass door open on the balcony and hear the river in your room. The bathroom was huge, and having 2 sinks (one in and one out) was great. The beds were comfortable - Great stay! We'll be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate your feedback. It pleases us to hear that you had a wonderful experience and that you will be back. That is what it is all about for us, giving our guests a wonderful experience.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate our anniversary. It was wonderful! The staff were friendly, helpful, and non intrusive. The view and atmosphere were romantic. We stayed in the suite, so I can't speak for other rooms, but it was SO quiet! I didn't hear a single toilet flush, or door slam from neighboring rooms. We are already talking about going back next year.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We congratulate you on your anniversary. We are so pleased that we were able to provide you a beautiful place for your celebration. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Double Tree in Durango for two nights. The staff went out of their way to make us welcome on arrival and thereafter ensured that we had an enjoyable stay. The hotel was very well furnished, clean and modern. It is within an easy walk of the train station at Durango. Perhaps not the cheapest hotel in town, it must rank among the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your compliments of our hotel. We know that our guests have many choices when seledcting a hotel and we thank you for your business. We welcome you back when ever your travels bring you to Durango again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the location on the river. The welcoming staff was so polite, gave us a big room with balcony overlooking the river. We had the breakfast buffet the first day and a healthier breakfast the second day. The bar tender in the lounge was fabulous, knowledgable and most accommodating. It's only a short 2 blocks to the main dining/shopping area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a great stay wtih us, our goal is to satisfy every guest every stay. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Otel, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.