We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cote” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Sedona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cote”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the location on the river. The welcoming staff was so polite, gave us a big room with balcony overlooking the river. We had the breakfast buffet the first day and a healthier breakfast the second day. The bar tender in the lounge was fabulous, knowledgable and most accommodating. It's only a short 2 blocks to the main dining/shopping area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a great stay wtih us, our goal is to satisfy every guest every stay. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    289
    74
    27
    10
See reviews for
286
326
27
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cdar Hills, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Enjoyed the hotel and the view of the river. Very warm and comfortable. It was within walking distance of downtown and close to the Narrow Gauge Railroad. The room was nice and the food was great. We would recommend DoubleTree to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your compliments of our hotel. We know that our guests have many choiced when it comes to selecting a hotel and we thank you for your business. We welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was by far the nicest hotel my family has stayed at for the price ever. It was in the perfect location, and the rooms were beautiful. We can't wait to go back. Even with bringing our two small dogs, having easy access to the river made it just a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your compliments of our hotel, we appreciate the feedback. We are pleased to have exceeded expectations. We are happy to learn that you will be coming back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Suburbs, IL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place is more like a convention center/hotel. Bus tours dropped off people and they filled the hotel. There were also seminars going on in the hotel. There was absolutely no service from the staff. You have to be a member of some club to get breakfast, otherwise you get nothing as the coffee pot in the lobby was empty each morning. You would not want to eat breakfast there anyway as it appeared the bus tours get free breakfast and the restaurant was jammed. This hotel has not been decorated or updated in decades. Very unappealing place at an expensive price. There are many other hotels in the area - try another.

Room Tip: This hotel is located at the major intersection in Durango - noisy and busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We apologize for the disappointment you experienced staying at our hotel. We take pride in providing excellent service to our guests and it sounds like we didn't do that for you and we are very sorry. Out hotel was very busy during the time you stayed with us. We have the largest meeting facilities in Durango and many local activities and seminars take place with us. However each guest is very important to us. We have forwarded your review to our staff to remind them of the importance of every guest who stays with us. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I wish there were Hilton or Hyatt in Durango, but Doubletree did the job for me! Perfect location, directly on a scenic biking/jogging trail along the river. Gold/diamond members receive a lavish full breakfast buffet. Also a nice arrival gift of mixed nuts in addition to bottled water. Very friendly small-town atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your compliments of our hotel, we will be sure to pass them on to our staff, We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Hotel in great. It is on the river and you can sit on your deck and watch nature. Rooms are terrific and staff was very helpful. Nice location and easy access. The restaurant is nice and right on the river. For breakfast you can order off the menu or a full buffet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your compliments of our hotel. We are pleased that when you come to Durango our hotel is where you want to stay. We welcome you back to stay with us again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is in dire need of a face lift. You feel like you are back in the 80's when you walk in. It is the only dog friendly hotel in the town and they seem to know it and their prices reflect it and the room reveal it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. You are correct, we do need a face lift, we are in the planning stages now and waiting for our corporate approvals. We are very excited about all the wonderful changes that we will be making and know that they will greatly enhance our guests stay with us.
We welcome you back to stay with us anytime your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.