We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite in Durango!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My favorite in Durango!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here one night after staying in historic hotels downtown. This place is on expensive side, but more affordable on weekday (weekends very expensive!). Very large, very clean rooms, wonderfully quiet, within easy walking distance of historic Durango, shops, restaurants, and DSN&G steam train. Beautiful hotel, is on our list of places to return to next time we are in Durango. Walking/bike bath right below on river. Hotel is on river, fantastically beautiful! Beds are extremely comfortable, lots of lighting with many lamps in room, great shower, big bathroom, all the amenities in your room that you need (but no makeup mirror). Linens and many pillows on bed very comfortable! We had a GREAT night's sleep here! Quiet, roomy, comfy, great temp. control. Free wifi, but no included breakfast in morning. Restaurant on-site, but did not try. Free coffee downstairs in morning, warm cookies when you check in. Parking safe, lighted, free, ample parking. Next to an Albertson's grocery store. Safe area. Best place ever! Wished we knew about this place when we still had our German Shepherd, as we took him everywhere with us; they are dog friendly! Really nice folks at front desk!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a king bed, river view. Sooo relaxing and beautiful! Maybe rent a bike for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. Your review was very complimentary, just what we work hard to accomplish for our guests. We're so pleased that you found our hotel and we look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    251
    58
    20
    10
See reviews for
250
256
20
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Elkhorn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is my 4th stay over the last 20 years. The staff has treated my dogs as members of the family. The prepartion og the room with a dog mat, water bowl, biscuits, and a toy was a surprise, and a hit! We had an excellent stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate feedback from our guests, learning how their stay with us went. We too love Dogs,
and understand how important it is to travel with them. We look forward to you and your pets staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agoura hills, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

excellent location for walking to Main St. Lots of fun so close, including shopping, drinking lots of restaurants, hiking, biking, train rides to Silverton and a great river walk just steps from the hotel. Some of the best Chicken wings and the greatest variety of micro breweries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your compliments of our hotel. We have a lot going for us with our location, close to everything, and on the banks of the Animas River with the beautiful river walking path just at our back door. We'd like to welcome you back to stay wtih us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Everything went smoothly. I had packages shipped to the hotel, they were received and held for me at no charge. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. My flight was delayed several times and I had to call frequently to reschedule the pick-up van. It arrived on time. They allowed me to check in early. It was just a pleasant and easy stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. It pleases us to learn that your stay was easy, that we met or exceeded your expectations. That is our goal to make each guest feel at home, to meet their needs, and make the stay easy for them. We welcome you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lovely room with a view of the river. And welcomed our little doggie with a water bowl and treat. She and we were very happy for our stay while I did the Durango half marathon. Rooms spacious, clean and comfy.

Room Tip: Choose with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you did the half marathon! We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Good clean and spacious room, well appointed.
Hotel is fairly near the town after crossing a very busy road. We did not use the restaurant, we decided to purchase some food for breakfast from a large local supermarket. hotel is beside a pleasant river walk.

Room Tip: If you get a choice take a room overlooking the river, very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate the feedback from you. We are pleased that you had a good stay, that you enjoyed our location, on the Animas River, Close to town and a grocery store just next door. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had a great room in this hotel very clean, good facilities and a pleasant view of the river. The only concern we had was the quality of food and service in the restaurant. It maybe that it was a bad night in the kitchens - two tables next to us had their bills reduced for food inconsistencies - and a third was in the midst of negotiation whilst we left. Whilst the soup we had was good the main course was barely warm and whilst adequate, was not something we could recommend. Our waitress, whilst efficient, was overbearing and was insistent we order a bottle of wine rather than the two glasses we actually wanted - I refuse to be intimidated by such behaviour but would rather do without it. Sad that our restaurant experience detracted from an otherwise very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
Green Features: Practice in line with current good environmental practices.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip advisor. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We apologize for the less than perfect experience you had while dining in our restaurant. That was definitely not up to our standards. We've reviewed your comments with our staff so that this would not happen again. Our Chef is insisting on better performance from his people. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.