We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lovely room with a view of the river. And welcomed our little doggie with a water bowl and treat. She and we were very happy for our stay while I did the Durango half marathon. Rooms spacious, clean and comfy.

Room Tip: Choose with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you did the half marathon! We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    275
    70
    25
    10
See reviews for
274
300
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Good clean and spacious room, well appointed.
Hotel is fairly near the town after crossing a very busy road. We did not use the restaurant, we decided to purchase some food for breakfast from a large local supermarket. hotel is beside a pleasant river walk.

Room Tip: If you get a choice take a room overlooking the river, very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate the feedback from you. We are pleased that you had a good stay, that you enjoyed our location, on the Animas River, Close to town and a grocery store just next door. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had a great room in this hotel very clean, good facilities and a pleasant view of the river. The only concern we had was the quality of food and service in the restaurant. It maybe that it was a bad night in the kitchens - two tables next to us had their bills reduced for food inconsistencies - and a third was in the midst of negotiation whilst we left. Whilst the soup we had was good the main course was barely warm and whilst adequate, was not something we could recommend. Our waitress, whilst efficient, was overbearing and was insistent we order a bottle of wine rather than the two glasses we actually wanted - I refuse to be intimidated by such behaviour but would rather do without it. Sad that our restaurant experience detracted from an otherwise very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
Green Features: Practice in line with current good environmental practices.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip advisor. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We apologize for the less than perfect experience you had while dining in our restaurant. That was definitely not up to our standards. We've reviewed your comments with our staff so that this would not happen again. Our Chef is insisting on better performance from his people. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

After renting a house for over two weeks we decided to extend our stay one more day. We travel with our two Wheaten Terriers and they were welcomed with open arms. Our room was big and the beds were comfortable. The shower was amazing... the best in three weeks. Our room was huge and on the Animas river. We loved that bec we were able to walk our dogs on the river walk. JP works the front desk.... He was excellent, friendly, helpful and professional. Oh, and those darn cookies are delish. The hotel is a bit pricey, but we think worth every cent. Close to everything ..... And did I mention the river walk :)

Room Tip: The views from the first floor are limited, but we liked that we could easily access the river walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the compliments of our hotel and our staff, we will be sure to pass along to them your compliments. We're pleased to learn that you will definitely stay with us again and we welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is right on the Animas River and there's a mikes long walkway along the river. The rooms are very clean, the staff accommodating and room service meals terrific. If you being a dog, which we did, you can't eat ANYWHERE in town which shocked us. It's illegal to have dogs on patios.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We couldnt agree with you more about our location, right on the Animas River, river path at our door, dog feriendly, close to town and its amenities. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great accomodations and food. The dinning room service is wonderful, and the food quality pretty good. The rooms are very clean and comfotable. The gym is OK, and you can get a reasonable work out. The pool is nice and the jacuzzi big enough for 6 to 8 people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you found our hotel to meet your expectations. We welcome you back anytime your in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Double Tree for four nights in early October. We had paid extra in order to have a river view and we're glad we did. It was worth the extra money to insure a balcony on which to sip a bit of wine and watch the Animas River flow by. The room itself was fully acceptable in spite of the high price. Having two sinks, one inside and one outside the bathroom, was a nice touch. The toilet paper could have been a higher quality and a bit softer in texture. The room did not have a fridge or microwave but we asked for these items and they were readily provided. They should already be in the room because the manager said in a reply to a review in April of 2012 that they were planning a renovation which would include these items. But what I find kind of chintzy is that, while they will provide the fridge and microwave, you have to ask for them. The web site doesn't even indicate that possibility. Why not? This is supposed to be a classy upscale hotel, isn't it? My wife and I returned for the day today and we smelled the chocolate chip cookies but she couldn't see them. Turns out they, too, were available but kept out of sight in a warm drawer. Apparently they're on display only in the mornings. Classy? I don't think so. During our four days, we also noticed that there didn't seem to be much of a connection between the staff and guests. In really nice hotels I'm used to seeing more of an effort made to smile and say hello. I liked the carpet in the room as I thought it was of good quality, even though not new. But it might have been new because again in July of this year the manager told another reviewer that a renovation is being planned. I'm assuming it's the same one he brought up in April of last year. Is it that as long as you're planning on renovating soon that should serve as a response to many complaints? The restaurant was uneven in quality for breakfast. The first day I found the scrambled eggs to be clumped into one mass, cool in temperature, with the cheese on top already turning a bit crispy. The bacon was actually cold. The croissants, which we dearly love, were undercooked although they looked great. They were very gummy on the inside near the bottom. Everything else was just great! The choices of things to eat were plentiful and the service was acceptable. On Saturday morning they had a 15-year-old "chef" preparing omelets. My wife got one and it was great. I once again ate the eggs in the buffet tray--not good again--I've had better in some much cheaper hotel restaurants on this trip. On Sunday I was smart enough to switch and order an omelet cooked to order--it was super. They ran out of croissants, though, and it was about half an hour before new ones were available. Our nice waitress said she'd bring some up to the room for me, along with butter, jam, and more coffee. She was clearly on her toes at handling things--good job! Since I wanted to go back to the room and watch the golf and my wife was staying longer, she brought these items up to me. They were delicious--especially the raspberry jam. But, once again, the croissants were undercooked and a bit gummy. My wife told me that the young "chef" came to the table and apologized that it was his fault they ran out of croissants--he'd just forgotten. Classy. The final word, though, is that we really enjoyed the hotel and would stay here again--the few problems mentioned all being readily fixed or fixable. But do take my advice to make a reservation guaranteeing you a river view. It's a major part of the hotel's attraction.

Room Tip: Get the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate all your comments and suggestions regarding our hotel. With respect to our renovation plans, our corporate offices has put them on hold for a while. In the mean time we are working hard to be sure to provide the very best service that we possibly can for our guests. We know you have many choices when selecting hotels and we thank you for your business. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.