We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Along the Animas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Northglenn, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location Along the Animas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The DoubleTree is located along the Rio de las Animas Perdidas en Purgatorio and within a block of the Durango & Silverton railroad station, making it the ideal location in Durango. The staff is always professional and friendly and the rooms quiet and clean. Rooms facing the river provide a relaxing environment typically after a long day of travel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are always happy to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you enjoyed our location
on the Animas River with the convenience of downtown close by. We welcome you back to stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    233
    56
    19
    10
See reviews for
224
234
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

this hotel was LOVELY, in a lovely location (the Animas River runs in back of the hotel) and very convenient to two major highways that many tourists use. Our room was very comfortable and very nice!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We welcome you back anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in a king bed room with river view, and it was our last and favorite hotel of the vacation. Our room was spacious, clean, and up-to-date with a comfortable layout: two vanities (one inside the bathroom and one out); handy power outlets on the lamps, comfy bed, a small table with chairs, and a balcony overlooking the Animas River. Wi-fi was pretty good- we ran into a couple of glitches, but overall it worked well. Check-in was friendly and well-organized. I had asked for a refrigerator in my reservation and sure enough, it was already plugged in and waiting in our room. I had asked for a high floor, and got that too.

Other reviewers have already mentioned the great location, but it really is ideal- across the parking lot from an Albertsons and a short walk to downtown. Plus, if you’re taking the Durango Silverton train and already have your tickets, you don’t even need to walk to the train station to get on the train. From the hotel, you just walk across Camino Del Rio and turn right into the rail yard.

This is a good choice in Durango.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We
appreciate your feedback, it's always great to learn that our guests had a great stay, and that they loved our location which is close to everything in Durango and on the banks of the beautiful Animas River. We hope that the next time your travels bring you our way you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Made a last minute reservation at this hotel, so it was a bit pricey. The beds were very comfortable and our room overlooking the Animas River was spacious. We were close to the highway so would give the view a B plus although it was fun watching people tube down the river. The hotel was right next to a grocery and liquor store and a block away from the train station. Also close to the Main Street of Durango. We didn't eat at the hotel with the exception of the complimentary chocolate chip cookies!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your compliments and review of our hotel. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed on the river side view of the hotel. This hotel was extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable. (The warm cookies they give you makes it extra special) There were two vanities which made it nice. One vanity inside the bathroom and one outside of the bathroom. We didn't try the restaurant for the first couple of days because of reviews, but I have to say, we missed out. We finally tried it on the last day and breakfast was wonderful. We didn't buy the buffet, we ordered our meal instead. Our meal was only $9.00 and included bacon, eggs, sour dough toast, and hashbrowns. They served blackberry preserves that tasted homemade. Our breakfast was hot and fresh. I personally would not eat a breakfast buffet and it was more expensive. Breakfast food on warmers is just not going to be good, so we really missed out on having a very good breakfast the other mornings. This stay was worth the money and the location is walking distance to downtown and the train. There is an Albertsons right next door which was convenient for food items or other needed items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We couldn't agree with you more about our location
with the Beautiful Animas River at our back door and downtown and the Durango Silverton Rail Road just a block away. We are pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant also. We welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Double Tree because we know it to be a nice hotel option. We new it was close to the train, but didn't realize just how close....I think it was less than 5 blocks. A nice surprise! We also enjoyed the hotel restaurant who offer nice evening options and a killer buffet at brekki. Be sure to add the buffet to your hotel reservations...there is a cost savings!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate feedback from our guests. We are just a couple blocks from the Durango
Silverton Train and convenient to downtown Durango. We look forward to having you stay
with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great view rooms overlooking the Animas River in Durango, CO. Rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. Staff is friendly, helpful and available to answer your questions and provide service as requested. Hotel is located near the Durango - Silverton railroad and within walking distance of the down town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We noted your typo of our name....Jilton...should be Hilton.
Thank you for all the good review information about our hotel. We welcome you back to stay
with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Otel, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.