We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Above average place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had a great room over looking the Animas river. Nice little balcony. Nice room. But no mini fridge. Who doesn't have a mini fridge these days? You like to keep your water, beer or wine cold you'll have to find the ice machine. Had trouble finding a ramp to roll our luggage up from parking lot to hotel. Finally was told that you have to use the Wheel Chair Access ramp so keep that in mind. I kind of felt like I was trespassing in a handicap zone. Had a very nice dinner in their restaurant plus good service. All and all a decent place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate getting feedback from our guests. By the way, we do have fridges available on a complimentary basis for our guests. We welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    256
    60
    21
    10
See reviews for
256
262
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a large property located at the main junction in town. The location is within easy 5 minute walking distance of the old town area and is also opposite the railway station where the scenic tourist train departs from. The back of the hotel backs onto a river but the front overlooks the large car park. We paid extra for a river view room and were given a room at the end which had a nice view and was quiet. I would not opt for a room at the front of the hotel given the proximity to the road and the view of the car park. There was another couple at reception that were complaining of their room that fronted onto the carpark and wanted to move to the back with a river view.
The hotel is attractive from the outside and inside has the style of an old western saloon albeit what appears to be an 80’s interpretation of one anyway.
The common areas are dated with a lot of brass finishings and dark wood. There is coffee available in the lobby and hot cookies in the morning. You are also offered a hot cookie on checkin which was a nice touch.
The room was very spacious but the furnishings and fit-out needed updating. The bed was comfortable and there was a large bathroom with good shower. As appears to be the norm with Hilton properties, there was no shaving/make-up mirror so you have make do with leaning over and squinting into the badly lit mirror over the vanity.
The main issues for us were the cost of the room and the cost of breakfast. We didn’t feel the room warranted the $225 per night cost. In addition, of all 5 Hilton properties we stayed in over a week it was the only one that did not include breakfast. The cost of this was $15.99 per person for what looked like an average breakfast spread. There were 3 staff hovering by the entrance to the breakfast room and we couldn't see anyone dining and imagine they were also put off by the price. There is a Denny’s across the road where you could eat a lot cheaper.
This is well located and has an appealing view at the rear but isn’t one of the better Hilton Doubletree properties.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate feedback from our guests. You'll be interested to learn that we are in the planning stages for a renovation for our hotel. It takes a lot of planning and organization to carry off a renovation of this size and we want to be sure we are covering all the bases. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,IL
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Durango is a great town and the location of the hotel is wonderful for getting around. Rooms are very spacious and clean. I did have one problem that almost ruined my trip--- Was injured in a motorcycle accident --- hospital and all :( so I had to returnt home early on a 5:45 AM United Flight. Gave Mason the desk agent request for a 4 AM wake up. Had problem sleeping do called at 2 AM to confirm wake up and found they had not put it in the program. The second time got it in and made the fligth. Close call. You may wish to double check any wake up calls.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel -the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate getting feedback from our guests. Let me say first, we apologize for the error on your wake up call. We have talked with our staff about the importance of this and stressed with them to be careful to handle them properly. We do hope that your are recovering from your motorcycle accident by now. We welcome you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stilwell, Kansas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the place to stay in Durango especially if you are taking the Durango - Silverton Railroad. The terminal is two blocks away and you can leave your car in their lot (free). The hotel shuttle will even drop you off at the terminal if you want (no cost). The hotel is modern with a definite western feel. Many rooms and the dining room overlook the Animas River. Rooms are large and well appointed. The price is good especially with a AAA discount.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We couldnt agree with you more about our location, close to the Durango Silverton Train, convenient to downtown, but on the banks of the beautiful Animas River. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a great hotel in a good location for walking into town.

The hotel was clean and tidy with all you'd expect from a Doubletree.

We ate in the bar one evening and the food and service was good.

If I have one complaint it was that the wifi service in the rooms was very poor.

We would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: If you can get a river view room - go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate getting feedback from our guests. Its great to learn that you would stay with us again and we welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Recently visited Durango and surrounding areas. Wonderful time. Hotel was clean, room was confortable, enjoyed the out door patio. Would suggest paying a bit room and requesting a room facing the river. 1st floor is best and has direct access from patio to the riverwalk and river. Can fish just 30 yards from you back door. Would stay again. Service was good, cookies great and dining room was fine as well

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your compliments. We are pleased that you had a nice experience, that's what it is all about in the hospitality business. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The accessible room that we had was very nice, but the bathroom mirror was so high that a person in a wheelchair (like me) could not see to get ready in the morning or evening. Very frustrating. Breakfast was very mediocre. Walk a few blocks to the downtown area and enjoy better quality for less money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its great to get your comments. We will look into lowering the mirrors in the accessible rooms, thank you for that suggestion. We welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.