We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Missouri
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had a river view room and the "bed and breakfast" package. The package cost a little more but included breakfast in the attached restaurant. This was a very good idea, no pressure of trying find someplace to eat and the food was great. We had a second floor room that overlooked the river and had a small balcony. Nice place to sit and watch the river go by in the evening. Staff was friendly. Rooms we nice, although the carpet was worn in the area were we stayed. The hotel is a short walk to the railroad station or the shops and restaurants of downtown Durango. There is a grocery store across the parking lot if you need anything. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you found our hotel a great place to stay while in Durango. We think our location is really great being right on the Animas River with easy access to down town and all that Durango has to offer. We are happy to learn you will stay with us again and we welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    257
    61
    21
    10
See reviews for
257
263
20
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spent 5 nights at the Double Tree in Durango, CO right on the Animas River. Fantastic location! Easy walk to Main Avenue for downtown activities. And, the river walk is a great way to get your daily exercise no matter what level you desire. Hotel is clean, neat and efficient. Some carpet is showing wear from use, but still clean. Definitely recommend even if you're paying a little more than other area hotels. Also, dog friendly as is Durango as a whole.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its always great to get feedback from our guests. Were pleased that you found out hotel to meet your expectations, that you liked our location, and that you'd recommend to others. We welcome you back the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Double Tree for two nights from August 6-8, 2013. The staff was very friendly during the fast, effecient check-in process. Our room was large and comfortable with a balcony on the 4th floor with a beautiful, peaceful riverview. The weather was cool while we were in Durango and it was nice to leave the balcony door open so that we could hear the soothing Animas River. The hotel pool/hottub were clean with plenty of towels. The hotel was within walking distance of the Historic Downtown area and there was ample, free parking. I highly recommend the Double Tree and would certainly stay there again if I return to Durango.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a river view room, it is peaceful to sit on the balcony and watch/listen a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased to learn that you will be back to stay with us again, that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great property and staff but pricey without the perks compared to like properties. Disappointed that no complementary bottled water was provided in the room, no safe in the room and no bikes for guests to use the beautiful river trail just outside your door. Other DT properties provide these things in similar resort areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We really like getting feedback from our guests. We apologize that you did not get your complimentary bottled waters - they should have been waiting for you in your room. We've reminded staff of this important task. We hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree in Durango. We spent a little more for a room on the river which was well worth the money. The room was very nice, bed extremely comfortable, service was outstanding. The restaurant was reasonably priced, food was outstanding. The coffee and sometimes fresh cookies in the lobby was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
Thank you for your compliments of our hotel, We're pleased that you had a great stay with us and we welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Dear Doubletree Team,

I would like to take advantage of this venue to express how truly grateful I am to all of you for making my recent stay with you memorable.

My wife and I chose your hotel to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary and it was a perfect choice indeed.

Upon our arrival to our room we were surprised to receive a Happy Anniversary card personally signed by Mr. Peter Marshall and his entire team.

Being a member of the management team of another Hilton property I can attest to how much a simple gesture such as that goes to demonstrate the genuine level of commitment to personalized service this represents.

The condition of the property and grounds were exemplary.

To any travelers considering this property, not only can I recommend every aspect of the hotel, but also cannot speak highly enough of Durango as a destination.

When staying at this hotel upgrade to a river view room, you will be glad you did.

We have already made our next reservation and cannot wait to return.

Regards,

Hugh Thomas

Room Tip: When staying at this hotel upgrade to a river view room, you will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your complimentary review. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Double Tree Hotel in Durango, Colorado is close by the Animas River, and convenient to the down town area and to the Durango/Silverton Train. The quality of the food in the restaurant did not meet my expectations, so we ate out in the local restaurants (which weren't very good).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations in our restaurant.
We would like to have you stay with us again and give us the opportuinity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.