We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality on the Animas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Kearney, Nebraska
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Hospitality on the Animas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had the two queen sized beds with a balcony on the Animas...really great view! Nice people, great breakfast, quiet...what else would you want? I disagree with the assessment that the service was poor...I thought it was great. The price reflects peak season in the rockies, but I thought it was worth it. The grand kids were first taken back by the dark colored pool, but quickly got over it and enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Choose the Animas river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a great stay with us.
The dark color of our pool is due to the darker blue tiles and paint which makes it look much darker than most pools. We switched from a chlorine pool to a saline pool a while ago as part of our Green Certification program. We welcome you and your grand children back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    250
    58
    20
    10
See reviews for
250
255
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Paris,France and New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It was so disappointing not being able to get the room I asked for : a quiet one far from the road ! Beware of the south side :my balcony was useless, and I could not even open the window because of the noise...By the way the A/C unit needed repair or replacement for the same reason, the bathroom was not spotless ( noticed the same dirty shoe print on the floor for days ! ) Disappointing also for a good hotel : internet was not secure... On the good size, and despite being an hotel for groups, the food was surprinsingly good, either at breakfast or for dinner. I travel enough in the US to be able to compare prices in similar hotels and find that Double Tree too expensive for what it is altogether. The lady at the desk told me that there was no difference of quietness in the 2 buildings hotel !!! Like she did not know where the road was !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is good to get feedback from our guests. We do apologize that we were unable to give you a room on the north side of the hotel facing the Animas River, it just was not possible with 100% occupancy. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I would always expect great service in the US. Service at this hotel is extremely poor. Especially for Hilton hotels, no one really cares. They can charge over $200/night and sell out. No reason to provide good service. I will never stay at another Hilton hotel due to the way I was treated here at $259/ night for 5 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We apologize that our service did not meet your expectations, that is definitely not up to our standards. We can only hope that the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

An early evening arrival for an early morning departure can provide limited impression. A nicely situated hotel, we had a room overlooking the river with a small veranda that could perhaps have been enjoyed if the door had opened properly. For an overnight stay it wasn't an issue. The room was as we would have expected: clean and comfortable. Staff were polite and friendly. The general ambiance was good. There's a handy retail area across the road and a ten minute walk gets you into the town where there's a good choice of restaurants, some of them quite stylish. Can understand why those who stay longer enjoy it here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It's always good to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that even tho you had a short stay with us you found everything favorable. We welcome you back to stay with us again when you have more time and can explore and enjoy all that Durango has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family stayed here from July 23rd to 27th. This was probably the best hotel stay we have ever experienced. When we first arrived after a long drive up from Santa Fe, of course we were met with the warm cookie. The bell hop brought our things up to our room. As he was unloading, I expressed disappointment that there was no refrigerator. He immediately went to fetch us one, and set it up right away. Our room was right on the Animus River. The room was large and clean, wonderfully comfortable beds, and we had a lovely balcony over the river. Our 13 year old son had the stomach flu one day. We spent the day in the room and on the balcony and it was lovely. In the evening I called down to the restaurant to see if they had chicken soup. John said they didn't but asked the chef if he could make some. Sure enough, the chef made homemade chicken soup from scratch for my sick boy, who pronounced it delicious! All of the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. Because our son wasn't feeling great, my husband and I ate in the restaurant one night and at the Animus River Cafe in the hotel, another. Both meals were delicious, and the service was great. Our meal at the Cafe was so nice, sitting right next to the river listening to live jazz, well we couldn't be happier. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Durango. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Choose the river view room. It is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your giving us this feedback. Our Chef was happy to make from scratch the Chicken Soup for your son who was ill. We're also pleased that we were able to assist you in your stay to make it a memorable one. We look forward to having you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel is in a great location at the entrance to Durango near old town. You can walk to the train station or old town and enjoy some great places to eat or shop. If I come here on family trips we use Durango and Hilton as our base location and go see all the areas around Durango as everything is within a day trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate your positive feedback. We're pleased to learn that when you come to Durango you use our hotel as your headquarters. There is so much to see and do in the Durango area and all a short trip within a day. We welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Everything about the Doubletree gets my recommendation. The food, service in all areas and the location get an A+ from our family. We enjoyed the walking trails and tubing down the river. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel -the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that we could assist you with a memorable family reunion and that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to having you and or your family back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.