We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Durango” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Durango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband, 8-year-old son, and I stayed here for three nights to visit Mesa Verde (40 minutes' drive away) and the Durango-Silverton railway (5 minutes' walk away). The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable, with lots of pillows, nice quilts and towels, a balcony, coffee maker, good shower and bathtub, and decent hair dryer. We really enjoyed the child-friendly pool and extensive buffet breakfast. The hotel is across a very busy street from the historic district, about a 10-minute walk away. It's next to the river, and the river walk, but to really enjoy this you should request a room 200 or above. (Lower level rooms are in the basement, basically. You can't leave the screen door open there and enjoy it because many strangers can walk right by your room. In an upper level room, you can open the balcony door to the screen door and enjoy the river and the fresh air.)

Room Tip: Ask for a river-view room NOT on the lower level. "City view" rooms face the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate getting feedback from our guests. Thank you for the compliments of our hotel. We try hard to provide each guest with a great experience. We welcome you back to stay with us again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    295
    75
    27
    10
See reviews for
297
335
27
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived later than expected, but still only 6.30ish , on a Sunday evening and the restaurant, in particular was not geared up to serve us. In fact the service was appalling, there was no body there, guests and staff, it took ages to get a table, get a drink and our food, when it did arrive was poor quality and wrong. They seem to have run out of most of what was on the menu.
Room was OK, as was breakfast but a disappointing stay, after a long hot journey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality experience and it seems we have fallen short during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you while staying with us. I will follow up with my team immediately to ensure we take all necessary steps to make sure this does not happen in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, we hope the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nothing like a room facing the river and only having to walk less than two blocks to get to the D&S trains and Downtown Durango. Great staff at the hotel, we were well taken care of. The pool is indoors and the water temperature was perfect. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We agree with you that we have the best location in town. and we are close to the Train and all the downtown restaurants etc. We welcome you back to stay with us again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife, kids and I stayed here for a one night pass through in Durango. We arranged a family room with two Queen beds for just over $200 plus taxes and it seemed very reasonable for the area. Room was clean, cooled and the receptionist could not do enough when we first arrived...checking us in 3 hours early so we could freshen up before our Jeep tour. The warm cookies on arrival is also a nice touch and goes well with the coffee pod system in the room. The pool/hot tub area was also very decent and a nice end to a long day. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. It's great to hear that we are a good family hotel. We are also pleased to learn that you would definitely recommend our hotel to others. We welcome you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The room was clean and very comfortable. Wonderful shower. Easy check in and check out. I would definitely stay again. We had a riverside room and the little balcony was nice for sitting and watching it go by. The only thing we found lacking was the food at the hotel restaurant. It was okay, but better food was found elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction. We welcome you back to stay with us again the next time you are in Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Don't know why this hotel was $250 per night plus tax. It was average at best. Not sure why Durango commands such high prices. It was the most expensive (and most disappointing) of hotels/resorts we stayed in traveling for 2 weeks in Arizona- Utah - New Mexico and Colorado. Would not stay here again. Staff was pleasant. Had river view room which I am sure was better than parking lot view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality experience and it seems we have fallen short during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you while staying with us. I will follow up with my team immediately to ensure we take all necessary steps to make sure this does not happen in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, we hope the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mico, TX
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to believe the rates for such an old, outdated hotel. It is clean but the furnishings & carpet leave a lot to be desired! The warm cookie is a nice touch, but hey, who doesn't like a soft, gooey cookie? We were up on the fourth floor during the busy summer season so our room was quiet. The staff are nice but this place is way overpriced!! Try to work in a free breakfast deal, it will soften the blow!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. You'll be interested to learn that we are in the planning stages for a renovation for our hotel. It takes a lot of planning and organizing to carry off a renovation of this size and we want to be sure we are covering all the bases prior to starting. We know this renovation will greatly enhance our guests stay with us and we are awaiting our corporate office approval. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.