We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodations on the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Fe, United States
1 review
“Nice accommodations on the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nice accommodation which allowed pets. In walking distance to dog park, biking & walking trails. Restaurant and bar was fair, no atmosphere. Pool/Hot tub was nice. Able to watch rafters from our room! Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your compliments of our hotel and we are pleased that you would recommend it to others. Word of mouth is the best advertising any business can get. We welcome you back when ever your travels bring you to Durango again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    398
    270
    69
    23
    10
See reviews for
268
283
21
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Got the hypo-allergenic room, clean and felt like I can breathe better eventhough I don't suffer from allergies, but only rooms available at the time. Excellent and great location because it's a few blocks away from the main strip of downtown Durango and train station. Definitely would stay again if I come back and the pool is awesome too...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We like getting feedback from our guests. We are pleased that you found our hotel to your liking and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stumbled across this hotel but happy we did. We had a terrific overnight stay at this hotel. Restaurant was excellent for dinner. Location is great with a good long river walk right there! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your comments. We're pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and We welcome you back again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a great place along the Animas River. Our room had a little balcony overlooking the river. Although located on the fork from Rt168 and Rt550, it did not bother me. Also, it was 2 blocks from Main St, where a lot of the restaurants are located. Walking distance. They had great clean rooms with a nice lodge feeling in the main area. We did not spend too much time at the hotel as there was so much to do in and around Durango but when we came back to sleep, it was a great sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor, We are pleased to get your feedback and learn that you had a great stay with us. We couldnt agree more with you about our location, we're right on the beautiful Animas River and close to town and all that Durango has to offer. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We only stayed in Durango one night while moving across the country and the Doubletree was the perfect choice. My husband is in the military and the government rate was very reasonable. The hotel was right next to a small river and running trail. Additionally, downtown was less than a five minute walk. The staff was very welcoming and friendly - not only did they accept our little dog, they welcomed her with a bone and a water bowl in our room. Anyone who has traveled with pets understands how frustrating it can be to find a nice hotel that allows them. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be perfect, right on the river and the running path and close to town and all the amenities of Durango. We welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was lovely. Clean, well kept up and full of friendly staff. I had a room facing the river, so getting a chance to sit on the balcony and watch the water was worth the price of admission. Food at the restaurant was excellent, as was the service. The beds were comfortable, the pillow top and plethora of pillows making for a great nights rest. Well positioned within walking distance of the narrow gauge railroad depot and shops downtown. Also shares a parking lot with a drugstore, so I was able to pick up last minute items I had forgotten and snacks. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I vote for spending a few extra dollars for the river view. There is a highway on the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We
always appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We're pleased you found out hotel to have a great location, excellent food and service, great room, etc. That's our goal for each guest to provide a wonderful stay for them. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Graduation Family Gathering Great location , very convenient to town. Overall service was great. Food was overpriced for quality at dinner. Wished rooms had mini fridge for price. Check in service was great

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We like getting feedback from our guests. We want you to know that we are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation in our future which will include mini fridges in the rooms. We're excited about the changes we are going to be making and we are sure that they will greatly enhance our guests stay with us. We're pleased that you had a good family gathering at our hotel and we welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.