We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, above average property, a couple of quibbles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great location, above average property, a couple of quibbles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

First, you would be hard pressed to improve upon the location of the hotel; immediately adjacent to downtown (a quick walk, though uphill and you do cross a highway at a stop light). Immediately behind the hotel is the river, and there is a drugstore on the other side of the parking lot.

The lobby is charming, with lots of old West touches. Front desk were courteous, and acknowledged Diamond Status. I did feel that the staff in the restaurant did a poor job (overly familiar; slow and inattentive; promised to bring things and then did not) and were not overly courteus, which is out of step with the rest of the property. Service is marked "average" below, but would more likely be five stars for hotel staff and one for the restaurant.

Of note to beer enthusiasts: small but very good selection of local craft brews on tap at the bar.

The rooms are sizable, and very clean. Everything worked as it should; it's a Doubletree, you're not going to have fancy furniture. Wifi worked fine.

While Durango has more-romantic options available, this is more than acceptable as a choice for a weekend ski trip or business travel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We like getting feedback from our guests, its very helpful to us. We appreciate your compliments of our hotel, you can be sure that we will work on the area you suggested needing to improve on customer service. We're pleased to hear that you would choose our hotel for the next time you are in Durango. We will look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    256
    60
    21
    10
See reviews for
256
262
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not ever being to Durango Colorado I didn't know what to expect as far as the town and accommodations. I had the hotel booked for me but figured Hilton properties are usually pretty good. I wasn't appointed. The hotel is quit nice with spacious rooms and flat screen televisions. The bed was quit comfortable with plenty of pillows to choose from. The bar and restaurant and very nice with good food and service. When you check in you're offered warm cookies. mmmmm I would definitely stay here again. Just a quick something on the town it's self. Very quaint with that rocky mountain feel and plenty of great restaurants and clubs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do like hearing from our guests about their stay with us. We're pleased that you had a successful business trip and that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoeniz, az
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a wonderful hotel, it was beautifully decorated, the rooms were large, clean and comfy. They gave you warm cookies when you checked in, and we saw warm cookies available other times during the day. The pool and spa were nice, and we had a nice time using them. All of the staff we encountered during our brief stay went out of their way to make our stay nice. In the evening after swimming we went to the lobby to fill up our cups of water (From a pitcher of water they had made available during the day) We were sad to see it had been removed the man who was taking care of the pool noticed and brought us three cold bottles of water. We will definitely come again, and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always good to get feedback from our guests. We appreciate your compliments of our hotel. We agree with you about our location and amenities and especially our staff, they are great.
We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely Hotel in fab location. Nice size room with excellent river view, however all rooms seem to be well appointed. our room was clean, spacious and had a lovely bathroom, good size and comfortable bed, Great pool facilities and brilliant hot tub. Excellent location to town, recommend Bells and Ken and Sues for food and drink. I would stay here again, the only problem we had was that we only stayed for one night. Looks a great place for the skiing fraternity recommended..

Room Tip: ask for river view, away from lifts, less noise and traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do
enjoy getting feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is one of the nicest and conveniently located near downtown. The rooms are well appointed and the entire facility is very nice. We alternate between the Hampton on the north side and the DoubleTree.
We like being able to walk everywhere downtown even in the winter time. This is the first trip (Jan 13) where the walk seemed pretty long due to the very cold (below -10) temperatures!
One problem was tracking salt into the rooms from the walkways which were kept very clear of ice and snow into the room. Housekeeping service was not vacuuming it up and it is not fun to step on with bare feet!

Room Tip: We like to stay on the upper floors facing town. Watching the snow fall against the city lights at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its always great to get feedback from our guests. Thank you for the comment about the ice melt, we've reminded our housekeeping department to keep it vacuumed up. We look forward to your next stay wtih us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A huge, luxurious and comfortable room, with two double beds and, conveniently, two washbasins (one in the bathroom, the other outside). There was, however, no minibar or fridge and as we were on the ground-floor with French windows, we were surprised there wasn’t an in-room safe either. Those quibbles aside, this hotel conveys size and quality and although it is on the edge of Durango it is only a short walk to the town’s shops, bars and restaurants, while there is a large supermarket across the car-park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its always good to get feedback from our guests. It was good to speak to you in person about your visit. As we discussed we have remedied the issues you talked about and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were offered the ski package, which included lift tickets and also the breakfast option. With all three together, we ultimately saved lots of money, had a nice place to stay, and a belly full of yummy breakfast to ski on. Location is great and close to shops and dining.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. Wer'e pleased you enjoyed your ski/breakfast package and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.