We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Glendale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Still an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is one of the nicest and conveniently located near downtown. The rooms are well appointed and the entire facility is very nice. We alternate between the Hampton on the north side and the DoubleTree.
We like being able to walk everywhere downtown even in the winter time. This is the first trip (Jan 13) where the walk seemed pretty long due to the very cold (below -10) temperatures!
One problem was tracking salt into the rooms from the walkways which were kept very clear of ice and snow into the room. Housekeeping service was not vacuuming it up and it is not fun to step on with bare feet!

Room Tip: We like to stay on the upper floors facing town. Watching the snow fall against the city lights at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its always great to get feedback from our guests. Thank you for the comment about the ice melt, we've reminded our housekeeping department to keep it vacuumed up. We look forward to your next stay wtih us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    270
    69
    23
    10
See reviews for
268
282
21
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A huge, luxurious and comfortable room, with two double beds and, conveniently, two washbasins (one in the bathroom, the other outside). There was, however, no minibar or fridge and as we were on the ground-floor with French windows, we were surprised there wasn’t an in-room safe either. Those quibbles aside, this hotel conveys size and quality and although it is on the edge of Durango it is only a short walk to the town’s shops, bars and restaurants, while there is a large supermarket across the car-park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its always good to get feedback from our guests. It was good to speak to you in person about your visit. As we discussed we have remedied the issues you talked about and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were offered the ski package, which included lift tickets and also the breakfast option. With all three together, we ultimately saved lots of money, had a nice place to stay, and a belly full of yummy breakfast to ski on. Location is great and close to shops and dining.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. Wer'e pleased you enjoyed your ski/breakfast package and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Room quality was adequate, but rooms were not well cleaned. Carpet was wet in first room, and after we moved the 2nd room was pet-friendly and smelled "doggy". On the 3rd try, the rooms were allegedly hypo-allergenic, but smelled bad and was very dusty. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We want you to know that we have remedied the issues you brought up. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during a family vacation and really liked the hotel. Our room was clean and spacious. The staff was very nice and helped with any questions we had. Our room was on the river and the view was very pretty. We walked to downtown for dining or shopping. It was great to stay in town and then drive to Purgatory for a day of skiing. The mountain is only 30 minutes away and we were still able to enjoy the charm of downtown Durango.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We're so pleased you had a good stay with us and we couldnt agree with you more about our location, being right on the beautiful Animas River and just a block away from downtown Durangi is perfect. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I took my family there for "The polar express" and the experience was great. Great location but the best was the way the staff treated my family and I. I hope the general manager knows he/she has a great team.

Room Tip: ask for "river view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate getting feedback from our guests. I definitely know what a great team
we have here at our hotel, it's wonderful working with them every day. We are pleased
that you had a good stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here for business several times over the last 5 years. My favorite hotel in town. That said, with a little work / effort can turn a good hotel into a great hotel.

Pros: location - Walking distance to downtown as well as set right on the river. If you get a river facing room, you can keep your balcony door open and enjoy the sounds of the water. Good sized room and bathrooms. Always get friendly, courteous service. Comfortable beds and appreciate getting bottled water in room. Nice sized pool area. Old, western feel / decor in lobby.

Cons: Restaurant food quality is terrible -- given the location on the river, this restaurant / bar could be so much more than it is - very disappointing. Gym has nice equipment but is too small for a hotel of its size -- mornings can be difficult to get a workout in because the gym is full. Rooms are dark - could use some brightening.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey. We appreciate your feedback. You'll be interested to learn that we are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation later this year which we feel will greatly enhance our guests stay with us. We've forwarded your comments abour our restaurant and bar to our Chef for review and improvements. We do hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;