We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, close to downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, close to downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during a family vacation and really liked the hotel. Our room was clean and spacious. The staff was very nice and helped with any questions we had. Our room was on the river and the view was very pretty. We walked to downtown for dining or shopping. It was great to stay in town and then drive to Purgatory for a day of skiing. The mountain is only 30 minutes away and we were still able to enjoy the charm of downtown Durango.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We're so pleased you had a good stay with us and we couldnt agree with you more about our location, being right on the beautiful Animas River and just a block away from downtown Durangi is perfect. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    255
    60
    20
    10
See reviews for
252
260
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I took my family there for "The polar express" and the experience was great. Great location but the best was the way the staff treated my family and I. I hope the general manager knows he/she has a great team.

Room Tip: ask for "river view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate getting feedback from our guests. I definitely know what a great team
we have here at our hotel, it's wonderful working with them every day. We are pleased
that you had a good stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here for business several times over the last 5 years. My favorite hotel in town. That said, with a little work / effort can turn a good hotel into a great hotel.

Pros: location - Walking distance to downtown as well as set right on the river. If you get a river facing room, you can keep your balcony door open and enjoy the sounds of the water. Good sized room and bathrooms. Always get friendly, courteous service. Comfortable beds and appreciate getting bottled water in room. Nice sized pool area. Old, western feel / decor in lobby.

Cons: Restaurant food quality is terrible -- given the location on the river, this restaurant / bar could be so much more than it is - very disappointing. Gym has nice equipment but is too small for a hotel of its size -- mornings can be difficult to get a workout in because the gym is full. Rooms are dark - could use some brightening.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey. We appreciate your feedback. You'll be interested to learn that we are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation later this year which we feel will greatly enhance our guests stay with us. We've forwarded your comments abour our restaurant and bar to our Chef for review and improvements. We do hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree because of the location (near the railroad), and we were very pleased. The pool was well maintained and nice, the food in the restaurant and room service was tasty, and the location can't be beat for downtown attractions. Also, having a view of the river was splendid! There was almost no outside noise, and we were near the elevators and ice machine. They did have a pipe leak in the ceiling which woke us up at 6am, but I can't hold that against them as it does happen and they gave us a credit for the breakfast buffet which was a great variety of food (without us asking). The next time we go to Durango, we will be back!

Room Tip: River view was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We're pleased you had a good stay with us, and we couldnt agree more about our location inthe center of everything, but with the Animas River at our back door its just perfect We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We spent 2 nights here and everything was great. We were going to stay at the Best Western Plus Rio Grannde but when we checked into the room there, the noise from the kids in the pool was overwhelming as was the smell of chorine. So we went to the DoubleTree to see if they had a room for 2 nights. They did and let me check it out ahead of time. Wonderful, quiet room facing the river. Beds were comfortable as were the pillows. We ate here both nights as well, the food was good and everyone was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your compliments. We're pleased you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Property is located right in the heart of Durango. Comfortable and inviting room - #444 in older but well maintained property. Unable to get upgrade so offered a gift certificate which turned out to be problematic when we attempted to use in the restaurant. View out of river side room was great. Nice flat screen LCD. Breakfast which was included for Diamond members was good but not outstanding. Overall a thumbs up but perhaps eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get river view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We appreciate feedback from our guests. We've passed your comments on to our Chef and Dining Room Manager for review and improvements. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed at many places in Durango and by far best place I have stayed. I thought staying on the mountain resort was great because it was ski in ski out. Wow! After staying at Doubletree this is the best! Room was so spacious, comfy bed and my advice is pay a little extra for river view. The hotel staff were wonderful and gracious. Best experience by far and perfect location to see and do all things in Durango.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and compliments. We're so pleased you had a good stay with us and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.