We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Salt Lake
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Super clean & the most comfy beds I have ever slept in on the road! The staff was great & started us off with a warm chocolate chip cookie as soon as we checked in! We will definitely stay here when we head through Durango again! For the price of the rooms I do feel as though they could offer a complimentary breakfast or something but all & all we were extremely happy with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We're pleased that you had a great stay with us, that you loved our hotel. We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    309
    79
    27
    10
See reviews for
309
352
29
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburg, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Ask for a balcony room overlooking the river. I could have sat out there all day. This is a very comfortable hotel walking distance from all the best Durango has to offer. My only tiny complaint is the wifi was slow. I would definitely stay here again, though. Very friendly and helpful staff, too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. We're happy to hear you were pleased with your stay, we look forward to having you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I enjoyed my two nights stay here. The front desk staff was pleasant and the rooms were worth the $. I kno wit's a bit more than the average rate for the area, but I pay more to ensure quality. Quality is exactly what I received here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its great to get your feedback, we're pleased you had a good stay with us and that you enjoy the quality of service we provide our guests. We welcome you back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here while in town for a high school sporting event. The front desk staff was very efficient and friendly. Check in was quick! The room, bed & pillows were so comfortable. A great night's sleep is so important. The bathroom was very nice, nice thick towels and the shower had great water pressure. The chocolate chip cookies and bottled water is also very nice. I would stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great place to stop on my way to Mesa Verde.
The room was clean and well appointed.
At breakfast the food was so-so, however the view was great.
The hotel is at a great point to take 160 West on the way to Mesa Verde.
I think it could also be good for visitors to Durango, as well as for business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its always good to get feedback from our guests. We couldnt agree with you more about our location, perfect for a trip to Mesa Verde, a wonderful place to see! We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

While the hotel was in general excellent, they screwed up on booking the room.
I asked for a pet room(traveling with two cats) and when I checked in they were going to give me the allergen free room!
So my advice is to call again after reserving a room and check the details.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. We're pleased you found us to be a great hotel, we' do apologize for the mix up on the room type. We welcome you back to stay again next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My family (2 adults, 5-yr-old girl, and Chesapeake Bay Retriever) stayed 1 night before a 3-day backpacking trip. This hotel has western elegance and spacious rooms. The location is amazing. A large grocery store is next door, which made it easy for us to stock up on camping food. All of the great restaurants and shops in Durango are a lovely 2 block walk away. The hotel is also right on the river which adds great scenery and a relaxed feel. I was very pleased with how much the hotel welcomed our dog; we were given a little bag of dog cookies at check in, told dogs were welcome anywhere in the hotel other than the restaurant and the pool (the river is more fun anyway!), and the room included a dog water bowl on a "whiskers welcome" mat. We asked the desk staff if they had a step stool so our daughter could reach the bathroom sink; within 15 min housekeeping brought one to our room. Breakfast in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. My family will visit Durango again (hopefully next summer!), and we will not even consider staying anywhere other than the DoubleTree.

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor (top) "Deluxe King" on the city side. Room was huge (could fit 3 king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We couldnt agree more about our location, on the banks of the beautiful Animas River, close to everything in town and the main highways. So glad to hear that if you stay anywhere it will be with us. We'll look forward to your next visit to Durango and our DoubleTree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.