We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were there for the 4th of July. We were upgraded to a deluxe mini siute with a sitting room. The room was nice but the couch (hideabed) was a little uncomfortable to sit on. The only mini suite was on the front of the building facing the street and parking lot. So it was a little noisy but not too bad. The Riverside resturant was great the food was fantastic. We also had the complementary breakfast is was great. Hot and freash every day plus made to order eggs with the buffet. While in town we also eat at 2 of the top rated resturants in town and my wife and I both agreed that the room service meal we had at the Doubletree was better. The rate is just a little high but if you want a nice place with a nice view of the river there is not much better in Durango

Room Tip: If you like it very quite I would suggest a room on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We're pleased you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    294
    74
    27
    10
See reviews for
295
333
27
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have stayed with the Doubletree twice in the last couple of years. We cannot fault the hotel and staff. Wonderful rooms - especially the beds, fabulous breakfast/dining room - the views of the Animas River is to die for.

Great value for money and wonderful location. Thank you for a great stay once again

Room Tip: go for a River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We're so pleased that you had a great stay with us and we welcome you back to stay with us again anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great balcony views of the Animas River and terrific breakfast buffet.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback. We're pleased that you found our hotel to have a great location and great breakfasts in the morning. We welcome you back anytime you are in Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

It is definitely pricey, but we liked the hotel enough to extend our stay. It is very conveniently located, clean and the staff is nice and helpful.

Our room was large and and bright with a balcony overlooking the river. It would have been nice to have a refrigerator in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room away from the main road that runs to the left of the property when facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel -the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We do
appreciate your feedback. We couldnt agree with you more, a great hotel in a beautiful city.
We are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation in our near future which will include microwaves and fridges among other great changes to our rooms. We welcome you back to see al lthe new renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised at the level of comfort for this beautiful mountain town. We enjoyed our 3rd floor balcony view of the Animas River. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good, but the buffet did not have very many options so the next morning we ordered from the menu since it was less. There is a grocery store within walking distance, which makes food options even better. Really enjoyed the Riverwalk and the Durango & Silverton Railroad train, which is right across the street.

Room Tip: Riverside is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your positive comments. We do have a great location, close to everything and to be on the river is really an added benefit. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel pictures look better than the property actually is but it is still a very nice property..It is close to down town area. I just wonder if you can get a better value somewhere else....

Room Tip: bottom floors have access to walking trail and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We are glad that you had a nice stay with us. We are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation in our near future which will greatly enhance our guests experience. We welcome you back to see all the great changes that we will be making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The good: Great location, pretty views of the river, walking distance to downtown but far enough away to be quiet. The Bad: The hotel itself is dated, stuck somewhere between 1974 and the mid-80's. It's in terrible need of a severe make-over. The bathrooms, which appear to have been updated sometime in the 80's, are nice. There was no min-bar in our room but I noticed several in the hallway - maybe you need to order them from the front desk. The breakfast was bad and overpriced. Overall, at almost twice the cost of other hotels in town I expected much much more from this hotel experience. Next time I will look at one of the local B and B's or boutique hotels which are around $100 less per night and have charm and character and free breakfast that is edible.

Room Tip: the river side is nice, quiet, sounds of the river and park below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing a review about your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I understand that the appearance of your room was a concern, and we are working to correct the issue. We would like to apologize for the breakfast as we know that it's a staple to everyone's day. I do hope the next time your travels bring you to the area you will stay with us at our hotel, we would love to have you. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.