We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but in need of a remodel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
southwest
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but in need of a remodel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The location is great with the Animas River flowing right behind the hotel. The rooms are in need of a remodel & I for one cannot take the super soft mattresses, I need more support than sinking into a mishaped old matttress set. Otherwise, the room was fine for the one night we stayed & the price was good. I definitely would not pay the higher price in their high season for this hotel though especially since there is no breakfast due to the restaurant on the premises. The bathroom could have been cleaned better especially under the vanity where there was some trash. I only noticed it while I was in the tub for a bath. Anyway, it is sad to see it looking so tired, come on Hilton, remodel & bring it back to life again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the Animas River side, its beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your stay with us on Trip Advisor. At Double Tree by Hilton Durango, we know that the look of our guestrooms is very important. Our focus on a great guest experience and reviews like yours have led us to renovate our guestrooms beginning in this year. This renovation will include updating the beds, which you mentioned were unsatisfactory. We also apologize for the trash you saw in your room. This issue has been addressed with housekeeping as this is not our standard. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to our area you'll stay with us and tell us what you think about our new guestroom experience. We hope you'll be one of the first to enjoy our improvements. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    270
    69
    23
    10
See reviews for
268
282
21
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently spent 1 night at the Doubletree in Durango, opting to check out early and into another local hotel rather than enduring the pain of another night at the Doubletree.

How this property got to be the Number #1 rated hotel in Durango is mind boggling. The location of the Doubletree is terrible relative to the other downtown hotels. The Doubletree is located at the busiest intersection in the city and is the wrong side of the highway. You must cross over 6 to 8 lanes of heavy traffic in order to walk downtown. While the hotel is technically "On The River", the bulk of the rooms are located overlooking the busy highway.

The rooms are standard issue "motel like" and not in any way representative of the
characteristics or uniqueness of the area. The bed was the worst that we have slept of any hotel that calls itself 3 star or better. The king mattress was essentially a combination of a few large
coils sandwiched between two mattress pads. The mattress coils were essentially "exposed" on
all sides of the bed. The result was a bed that sagged wherever any weight was applied, thus
providing no support whatsoever. Believe me, this is one cheap bed! While some may find this
"comfy", if you have back/neck problems, you will have a miserable experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango. We are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation in our future which will include new beds and many other changes to our guest rooms. We apologize that you did not have a good experience staying with us, we wished we had known about your issues, we'd have been happy to put you in another room that would be to your satisfaction. We do hope that in the future you will stay with us again to give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a handful of times to visit family & ride the DSNGRR. Never Again!
3 out of the past 5 stays at Doubletree Durango have been horrifically filthy. This last stay there was dried bodily fluids on the white coverlet with hair stuck to it, brown dried splashes on the wall in plain sight, something gooey all over the phone cord. I took pictures with my iPhone to show them and the very young staff was not even surprised. We were moved to an allergy pure room and there was half eaten candy on the floor and a wrapper.
We will no longer stay here, at $150/night this is unacceptable. Appalling!
They have also removed all the hutches with fridges and microwaves, that used to be present in every room. Housekeeping will roll some scratched dented and dinged ones into the room and leave on the floor at your request.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced. This is definitely not up to our standards. Our staff works hard to provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests and we will work hard in the future to see that this doesnt happen again. It is interesting you mention hutches with microwaves and fridges, our hotel has never had those. We are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation which will include microwaves and fridges in addition to many other changes for our guest rooms. We do hope that in the future you will consider staying with us again to give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north billerica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Doubletree Hotel in Durango is next to the Animas River and within easy walking distance to the Silverton Train and downtown Durango.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate the feedback and welcome you back anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel is a little older and shows its mature without taking away from a pleasant experience. Actually, unlike so many of the newer hotels that feel corporate chic but lack some soul, this one feels comfortable the moment you walk in it.

The front desk staff was excellent; professional, helpful and friendly. The rooms were roomy and had all necessary amenities. Opening up the balcony door and hearing the river flow by 20 feet away made it even nicer.

The breakfast buffet was very good - lots of choices including healthy ones.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: pick the river facing one if you can and go at least one floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor, We appreciate your feedback and welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We recently stayed for four nights during a tour of the South West. The service received was excellent, and both breakfast and dinner proved to be both excellent value and quality. Rooms were very spacious and clean, with really good quality beds, although overall furniture was slightly more dated than we expected. The only downside was the restaurant was very empty most times we used it in the evening - lacking in atmosphere, which was a shame as the meals were great. The hotel is ideally placed for the town, and although it is based on the main road and bridge into town, we did not suffer from any traffic noise. We would thoroughly recommend the Doubletree for any visit to Durango

Room Tip: Chose riverside rooms - better view and possibly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate the feedback. We're pleased you found our hotel to be excellent. We strive to be the best. We welcome you back anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were driving from the Grand Canyon to Denver for our flight home and I chose this hotel as a midway stay over based on the reviews here on trip advisor.Thank you everyone for your reviews.

I will try to add what I thought stood out to our family.There was 4 adults in one room,my 2 boys,my husband and myself.The room was bigger than your normal hotel room,we never felt crowded.Enough walking room,nice balcony overlooking the river.When I made the reservation months ago, I put in for an upgrade for an additional $15 to include breakfast.Their breakfast was amazing,Oatmeal,omlettes,tasty herbed potato wedges,homemade hot apple strudels,omg this breakfast was a fine dining breakfast.I could go on with all the items but you get the picture.If the upgrade was not available I would pay for this awesome breakfast.Excellent service also.

I loved the path by the river,I wish I had taken better photos.It was also nice to walk next door to Albertsons?grocery store for items needed and a liquor and beer store also.The Doubletree chocolate chip cookies were warm and tasty.They were also available in the lobby by their fresh coffee.The staff was warm and friendly.We used the hot tub and pool which was also a relaxing way to rest after a long car ride.Also this town was adorable.Nice to walk around and shop.I just wish I had booked 2 nights here.That was my only negative.Plentiful parking also.
One more note the hotel is very Green for the environment.Very high standards from the trash areas in and out of the room to the toilet paper.Well done Doubletree and thank you!

Room Tip: Try to get a river room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and we hope that your next visit you'll plan to stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.