We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Christmas Stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Christmas Stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The Staff was great,the room was nice comfortable and clean we stayed for Christmas week the only complaint was the Christmas dinner buffet.the food was aweful for the price they were charging and being Christmas everything else was closed so i felt that is why the price for the buffet was so high other than that the stay was awesome the fitness center was nice ,the pool and hot tub were nice,but the best of all was the sauna in the dressing room.we will be staying again in the near future.

Room Tip: we enjoyed the river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate the feedback from you. We're pleased that you had a good Christmas Week stay with us. The hotel was sold out and extremely busy during that time. We are pleased to hear that you will be staying with us again and we look forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    288
    73
    27
    10
See reviews for
286
325
27
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Great location, close to downtown, large room, clean, dog friendly, close to dog park, full breakfast was included.

Room Tip: try to get the breakfast included in your room. It was a good, full breakfast and saved time any mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisors. We appreciate the feedback. We're pleased to hear that you would be staying here again. We look forward to having you as our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The Doubletree, Durango is conveniently located near enough to the old shopping part of Durango and not too far from the airport. The hotel is built alongside a river and rooms along that side of the hotel have river views from their small patios. Each patio has two chairs and a table. The rooms are oversize and nicely furnished.
the staff at the hotel is friendly and anxious to please. While this is not a luxury hotel, someone accustomed to luxury hotels will fee comfortable here. There is a good restaurant. The bar is also good but it closes early because of the competition from other bars in the area. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: pay extra for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We're pleased you found us a very good hotel....we try hard to please every guest every stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. Easy to find, plenty of parking, friendly check-in and a large comfortable room. I thought the hotel gave great value for money. The staff were helpful in locating my missing passport which I had somehow managed to leave at reception.

From the room we had a nice view of the river. The centre of town and the steam train were only a short walk away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us, we try hard to make that happen for all of our guests. We do look forward to your return stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

Last year my family stayed at the doubletree for our annual trip to the polar express on the durango silverton train. It was a wonderful experience with a very accommodating hotel anxious to ensure we had a wonderful time and that all our needs were met and that the magic stayed alive for my little one. This year we stayed at the doubletree with resentful, grouchy, and rude staff. No service when we checked in could have made me want to turn and run more. Rooms weren't ready, front desk wouldn't even track down the bell man (who was exceptionally nice) to store our bags and belongings. At dinner in the hotel restaurant my daughter fell asleep at the table while waiting for our trip on the polar express and the entire restaurant staff couldn't have been ruder or more put out by a child sleeping in our booth. When attempting to dine in the same restaurant for breakfast we were kept waiting for a table for four after multiple tables of two and six were seated. After an hour we finally checked out and hit a Denny's on our way out of town.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do sincerely apologize for what you experienced at our hotel. What you experienced should not happen to any of our guests and we are truly sorry. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us an opportunity to turn your impression of us around and let us show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

i really enjoyed our room, i dont like to stay in hotels but i liked this hotel. rooms were clean great view, that was probably the best part>.

Room Tip: pick a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe,nm
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This was our second trip to the Durango Doubletree Hotel. We enjoyed the river view and short walk to downtown Durango. The room was clean and comfortable. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The indoor pool was a big hit with the kids.

Room Tip: select a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We apprelciate the feedback. We're pleased your second trip was a good one. We will look forward to your 3rd and 4th and so on. You're right, we do have a great location and our staff works hard to please our guests. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.