We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverview room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4 + WiFi
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Riverview room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Typical of Doubletree properties. New carpets, nice room with a river view. Mattress was due for a replacement. Way too soft. Staff was super and the property was very clean and up to date.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are happy to learn that you had a good stay with us, yes, we love families! Thank you for the compliments on our staff, we feel we have an outstanding crew. We look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    321
    87
    28
    10
See reviews for
324
372
30
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here Labor Day Weekend two nights and got a room overlooking the river. Beautiful in the day and night. Perfect location right across the street from the Train station and next to it is the McDonalds perfect for breakfast for 6 yr and us. Comfortable beds. Most of the rooms we found cost the same price, so worth it to stay here. They have their own restaurant on site by the river -- a bit pricy. Some folks ordered pizza and eat at the pool. The pool is next to the resturant so you can hear the live music playing which nice. 3ft to 5ft and hot tub on the side. What was nice is you could walk to the train and leave your car parked at the hotel -saves you $9. TIP for the train - remember to wear sunglasses if in the open gondola and a hoodie type jacket. Also nearby is Durango Mtn where they have alpine slides and bungie jumping.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and review. We do have a great location near the train and also on the Animas River. We offer complimentary transportation to the train depot for our guests. We hope that you'll stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Great location - our room opened to the Animas River. Somewhat older hotel but very clean and updates throughout. Large rooms with very comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Our dogs were very welcome and we noticed each day how the staff thoroughly cleaned the rooms and hallways.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback and we are pleased that you had a good stay with us.
We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Decent location for walking downtown. Nice hotel. Would ask about a room with a balcony. We had a nice large room, but no balcony. The cafe was a disappointment dut to the amount of time for the food to arrive at lunch, but the food was fine. Hot tub and pool OK. Next to an Albertson's grocery store for food shopping.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We welcome you back anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Hotel is nice location and clean. The room are nice with river view .
I just can not believe it that one night is almost cost same price as downtown in Chicago hotel.
Breakfast is over price but ok $18 per breakfast is little bit steep.Dinner in same place is $35 + drink is similar to other restaurants in town.
Nice place to take walk around river just be careful so many homeless people are walking around as well.
Bring your iPad to not get charge for movies. Internet is free and good speed.
Room service is very nice but no chocolate on your pillows as in Hilton.
Very diseponted.
Renting conference room $750 per day it is very expensive. We did not rent it under this price.
Overall nice place but I am not sure if this is worst for the money.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We're pleased that you found so many things to write about in your review. We do have a lovely location and its great to take walks on the River Path. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My Husband & I were sitting on Main Street in Durango eating Lunch and I was looking at Hotels on my iPad. The waitress recommended the Doubletree because it was on the River. After Lunch we checked it out and loved it so much we extended our stay for 3 days! The Room opened up to the River and the weather was beautiful. We would get up in the morning and walk the path along the River. The Restaurant also overlooks the River. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel - the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you loved our hotel. There is so much positive going for it we agree. We are pleased that you are going to come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a lovely room overlooking the Animas River for only one night. (the remaining portion of the week we stayed in a fabulous rental house from VRBO.com). It was good to be close to Downtown Durango to get to know the area by walking. The hotel is dated and could really use a facelift in the hallways but it was clean and the location could not be beat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your comments. We are in the planning stages now for a renovation next year which we are very excited about. We do hope that you will stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.