We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location makes it worth staying here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Excellent Location makes it worth staying here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a lovely room overlooking the Animas River for only one night. (the remaining portion of the week we stayed in a fabulous rental house from VRBO.com). It was good to be close to Downtown Durango to get to know the area by walking. The hotel is dated and could really use a facelift in the hallways but it was clean and the location could not be beat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your comments. We are in the planning stages now for a renovation next year which we are very excited about. We do hope that you will stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    289
    73
    27
    10
See reviews for
286
325
27
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We only stayed one night at this hotel, this was a shame as the hotel was lovely. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean,quiet and of a good size, we had a very good nights sleep.

The breakfast (which was included in the price) was very good the quality and range was exceptional.

On our arrival were were all given a hot cookie, we thought this was a very nice touch.

The meal we had in the restaurant was served to us by a very friendly and helpful waiter and the quality of food was also very good.

Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with the river view and at the back as the main road at the front seems to be busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The DoubleTree by Hilton on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us, as our goal is to make every guests stay as perfect as we can. We look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is a large hotel within a walking distance to main street and its restaurants and shops. Our room overlooked the Animas River which offered a beautiful view. The staff was friendly and helpful. While other reviewers mentioned that the hotel needs an update, we saw it more as needing a thorough cleaning. The carpet was visibly stained in several parts of the room as were the upholstered chairs. The side of the table was not cleaned and with the dresser had layers of dust. We think that if these issues were taken care of, the room would have had a better appearance. In addition, as others mentioned, the rate per room is quite expensive for what you get and is (at least what we paid) higher than what we paid in New York City.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We do apologize for the lack of cleanliness that you describe in your review, that is definitely not up to our standards, and we feel was a one time occurrance. We are in the planning stages for a guest room renovation next year which we are really excited about. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

Diubletree in Durango is quite a big hotel and would definitely need some improvements:

1) rooms are outdated and a bit run-down
2) room accessories should be checked (broken ironing-board...)
3) staff is not very helpful and often unavaliable
4) rates aren't exactly cheap

Even though the design and deoration aren't my taste (I prefer modern/minimal hotel design), and I feel the 2-nights' stay wasn't great value/money, Doubletree is in a strategic location and close to the cute riverside exercise trail.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. You'll be happy to learn that we are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation next year. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
1,310 helpful votes 1,310 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Travel on Durango & Silverton Railroad. Travel over Red Mountain Pass- preferably withg someone else driving.Visit Ouray.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, The DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us. The drive over Red Mountain is certainly exciting and many would prefer someone else to do the driving for sure. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were on the river side and had a patio. Wonderful and relaxing view. Just minutes from downtown where we discovered great shopping and wonderful restaurants. Pool was nice, hot tub was great. Very efficiant room service. Would most definately stay again. Only negative was a bland/rude bleach blonde gentleman bartender.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for your compliments. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is right on the Animas River (we had a great view from our room) and it is within easy walking distance of the Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railway. My brother-in-law and I booked this room to walk around Durango (another easy walk from the hotel). There is an Albertsons and Liquor store conveniently directly across the street.

The hotel let us check a duffle bag in for 4 days while we took the train to the mountains and hiked around. We then came back 4 days later and they let us use their pool shower and shuttle to the airport. They even gave us extra cookies.

Our backpacking trip wouldn't have been nearly as good without their accommodation and their great service. Although they might be pricey for Durango, their airport shuttle service is worth it, since we got a quote of $30 per person from a local taxi service. That adds up.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased that you found out hotel to be fantastic and that you enjoyed our amenities. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.