We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4 + WiFi
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband, mother and I stayed at the Doubletree for four nights while my mom attended a conference at the college in Durango. The hotel is terrifically located - right along the Animas river, and shares a parking lot with an Albertson's grocery store and an organic, local, funky mexican restaurant: Cocina Linda. It is an easy two block walk to the heart of downtown Durango - at Main and College Avenues - where there are tons of restaurants and shops, and access to the Durango - Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. The hotel also is bordered by a 5 mile walkway/bike trail that stretches north into Durango and south to the visitor center right along the Animas and provides a great place to watch kayakers and rafters.

This hotel provides a free shuttle around town - my mom used it to get to and from the college. Durango also offers a free trolley system that allowed us to explore north Durango (Animas City). You would want a car, though, if you'd like to explore into the mountains and the San Juan Skyway.

The restaurant is nothing too unique, but does offer attentive service and good enough food. There is a little cafe on the first floor right along the Animas River, but it was booked for private parties both nights we'd hoped to eat there. There are fresh baked cookies every evening. Breakfast was not included with our reservation.

There is a small indoor pool and a deep hot tub. Both were quite clean. There's a small fitness center as well.

Every staff member with whom we interacted was fabulous, polite and provided excellent customer service. Most specifically, Rysert at checkin, good-natured Seth in the restaurant, and the awesome and enthusiastic Nick at guest services.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel The Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you had a great 4 day stay with us and that we were able to assist you with shuttles and etc. We do hope that you'll stay with us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    330
    89
    29
    10
See reviews for
338
383
30
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel is set on the main road in Durango so the location is great and the Animas River is directly behind the hotel to drown out any noise from the road. The rush of the water over the boulders in the river made great sounds that lulled us to sleep. The room was the typical Doubletree with nice amenities. Breakfast was above par with the buffet and menu ordering. The resturant looked out over the river for a nice way to start the day.
The location is great for taking the train to Silverton or spending time as Mesa Verde.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango, on trip advisor.
We appreciate your compliments, we're pleased you had a great stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Absolutely loved this hotel. Lovely rooms, great pool, great location and FREE computer terminals for the use of guests-- a great bonus in the States where so many hotels seem to loathe to give you anything complimentary!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We're pleased that you loved our hotel and we're happy to provide the computers for guests use in our business center. We welcome you back when ever you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed here in late June 2011, night before we did the zip-lining with Soaring (lot of fun!). It is a chain hotel, but has a decent location in Durango (only a block or two to downtown). One end of the hotel does get a bit close to a fairly busy intersection, so try to ask for a room on the other end (closer to town, to the north end) and even better, try to get a room facing the river - it's downright calming sitting on your balcony hearing the river rush past and you can wave to kayakers and rafters gliding down. Reception desk was helpful and quickly moved us to a nice room. Altho I forget the name of the restaurant, we also really liked the small mexican restaurant in the parking lot of the grocery store right next door (I know it sounds a bit iffy, but it's all local produce and has a nice little garden to sit in). Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The Doubletree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and you are right, it is wonderful to enjoy the river view and the sounds of the water are very calming and peaceful. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We recently stayed at the Durango Doubletree with our three kids and loved it.

It's right on the river with most rooms facing the water and trees. We requested a ground floor room and they happily took care of us. The girl working the reception desk could not have been any nicer and gave us 5 fresh baked chocolate chip cookies at check in. The room was very nice and good sized with modern amenities. The pool was indoors and a bit small with a nice jacuzzi. In the pool area, there was a huge flat screen TV where you could sit in the jacuzzi, watch sports and sip a local beer from the bar at the same time.

It's centrally located, has a nice cafe with a great happy hour with live entertainment during the summer months.

We stayed an extra night because we had such a great time river rafting and checking out the town. Complimentary coffee in the lobby in the AM with a decent workout room, this place has it all.

Highly recommended for anyone traveling through the area.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had a great stay and that you were able to stay an extra day. We appreciated your comments about our outdoor restaurant with live entertainment which has turned out to be an excellent venue. We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Had a river view room. Great for sleeping. Large room with comfortable beds. Balcony in room with table & chairs was very nice to relax at. Perfect location for walking into town.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The Doubletree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We apprelciate your compliments! We feel we have a great location, and all the amenities to go with it. We're excited about some renovations we are planning for next year. We welcome you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Good location on the edge of town overlooking the river but within walking distance of Main Street with its bars and restaurants. Our room (330) overlooked the river and was a good size with comfortable 4'6" twin beds. We did not use the restaurant. Generally pleased with the hotel although the receptionist didn't seem to know what was going on in the town that evening.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The Doubletree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.