We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Durango to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Oktaha, OK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best place in Durango to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Was given a great chocolate chip cookie upon check-in, and every morning I stopped by the lobby to get another cookie and cup of coffee before leaving.
The room are well stocked with Wolfgang Puck individual coffee packets for a quick in-room coffee. Also the rooms are well stocked with towels and washcloths, unlike some of the other hotels. The beds are very comfy as well, and who can complain about the view if you get a riverside room, each has a balcony overlooking the Animas river, with a great walking trail going both north and south of the hotel, running alongside the river. The Durango-Silverton train station is also an easy walking distance, as is all the other downtown places. It is no doubt my favorite place to stay in Durango, and I am here at least once a month. The only thing that I can think of that would make it better is an in-room microwave and refridgerator.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you think its the best place to stay in Durango and we agree with you. You'll be happy to learn that we are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation next year which will include fridge and microwave in each room. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thanks again for your review.

Adelle Anderson
Adm Asst to the General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton Durango, CO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    288
    73
    27
    10
See reviews for
286
325
27
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
MASON CITY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We prefer Hilton properties as they have never disappointed us so we chose the Double Tree Durango when planning our vacation to Durango. We were very happy with our city view room and like the location as it is close enough to walk to all of downtown for food and shoping. Our only complaint would be the room cost as we felt it was around $50/night more than it should be compared to similar properties in other parts of the country, but we paid it, and the parking lot was full so I cannot fault them for charging as much as they can. We also ordered room service and thought that the food quality and cost was good and inline with other Hilton properties around the country.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton, Durango, CO. on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your kind comments. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed our room service. We hope that you will stay with us again your next trip to Durango.

Adelle Anderson
Adm. Asst. to the General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton Durango, CO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Back for a repeat visit. This time five nights. Incredible. Fantastic. Running out of superlatives :) Very, very impressed with all the staff (every single one was personable and helpful) starting with the General Manger (who is very responsive to email and who made us feel very, very welcome on our return for our delayed 25th anniversary trip redux. Thank you!) Probably the best room service dinner I've had in a long time too.

In short, can't wait to go back. And loved, loved the riverview room this time!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton, Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your kind words and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to your return to stay with us again soon.

Adelle Anderson
Adm. Asst. to the General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My wife and I have been visiting Durango for over 15 years and this is the first time we’ve stayed in the Doubletree Hotel – we’ve stayed in other hotels as well as vacation homes. We stayed here for three reason and we were not disappointed: 1) this hotel accepts pets, 2) great location, and 3) overall quality of the Hilton chain. We always travel with our two Shelties and this was one of the best places we’ve ever stayed that accepts pets. This hotel is located right next to the Animas River, which is a great place to walk dogs – it seems like every other person walking along the river has a dog. Even better, though, is that this hotel is only about 100 yards away from a huge dog park where you can let your dogs run off leash – the best dog park we’ve ever seen. The staff was very helpful, too. We originally had a street-side view; when I saw the river-side rooms on the ground floor with a sliding glass door opening to the river, the staff accommodated my request to move. This was great for walking our dogs. Our room was very nice and comfortable. This is where we will stay on our next visit.

Room Tip: Great place if you have a dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The Doubletree Hotel Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your kind comments, we love pets also! We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back anytime.

Adelle Anderson
Administrative Assistant to the General Manager
Doubletree Hotel Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I stay at the Doubletree Durango monthly and find it to be comfortable and the staff extremely friendly and eager to please. I often stay the night before a flight or on the back to Pagosa. The rooms are clean, comfortable and relaxing. The upgrade to flat screen TVs last year is a welcome addition. I've stayed everywhere In Durango and the Double tree is by far the best. I'll be back this Wednesday before my early flight Thursday morning.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The Doubletree Hotel Durango, on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your comments and compliments. We especially love having guests like you who return frequently. We will be looking forward to your next stay with us.


Adelle Anderson
Administrative Assistant to the General Manager
Doubletree Hotel Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011 via mobile

The 2 queen room Was huge. We had a sliding glass door where we could walk right out to the river. Location to downtown was decent. Not totally downtown but you can still walk everywhere. Room was fairly clean. There were some minor stains on the carpet. I think there was a dog pee stain on the shower curtain. Bathroom was really nice otherwise. Furnishings were just ok. The bed was comfy. Free wifi but breakfast wasn't included. We probably won't stay here again when we return to Durango. We'll stay somewhere cheaper or camp.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree Hotel Durango on Trip Advisor.
We are happy that you enjoyed your room, the hotel's great location, and we would be happy to have you stay with us again.

Adelle Anderson
Administrative Assistant to the General Manager
Doubletree Hotel Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

The Doubltree Durango was decidedly average, with the exception of the location and breakfast buffet, which were both great.
Location: The view of the Animas River from our room on the top (4th) floor was very nice. We could open the sliding door onto a very small balcony and enjoy the sounds of a babbling brook (small river) and watch fly fisherman in action. The hotel is very convenient to dowtown Durango (1 block away) and is immediately adjacent to a grocery store (in case you want snacks or fruits or supplies for skiing).
Breakfast Buffet: The breakfast buffet (included in out room rate) was great. There were fresh waffles, made to order eggs and omelets, yogurt parfaits, bacon, sausage, and an oatmeal bar. Everything you need to start your ski day. Plus, you can get some of their breakfast paninis to go!
For being a hotel near a ski resort, I was surprised to see such a boring pool and hot tub area. They could really spruce it up a bit. (I felt like I was walking through a dank basement.) They could also heat up the dry sauna and let people know it is there.
I would have given higher marks to the hotel, but it's decor is dated and the elevator was broken down for more than a day.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are in the planning stages now for a renovation for our hotel that will happen next year - we will put your comments into our planning information. We're pleased that you enjoyed our location, we think its great too! We're also very happy that you enjoyed our breakfasts. Our Grab and Go"offerings are so quick and easy with selections to suit everyone. We welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.