We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room with river view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4 + WiFi
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Huge room with river view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

The 2 queen room Was huge. We had a sliding glass door where we could walk right out to the river. Location to downtown was decent. Not totally downtown but you can still walk everywhere. Room was fairly clean. There were some minor stains on the carpet. I think there was a dog pee stain on the shower curtain. Bathroom was really nice otherwise. Furnishings were just ok. The bed was comfy. Free wifi but breakfast wasn't included. We probably won't stay here again when we return to Durango. We'll stay somewhere cheaper or camp.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree Hotel Durango on Trip Advisor.
We are happy that you enjoyed your room, the hotel's great location, and we would be happy to have you stay with us again.

Adelle Anderson
Administrative Assistant to the General Manager
Doubletree Hotel Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    313
    79
    27
    10
See reviews for
311
357
29
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

The Doubltree Durango was decidedly average, with the exception of the location and breakfast buffet, which were both great.
Location: The view of the Animas River from our room on the top (4th) floor was very nice. We could open the sliding door onto a very small balcony and enjoy the sounds of a babbling brook (small river) and watch fly fisherman in action. The hotel is very convenient to dowtown Durango (1 block away) and is immediately adjacent to a grocery store (in case you want snacks or fruits or supplies for skiing).
Breakfast Buffet: The breakfast buffet (included in out room rate) was great. There were fresh waffles, made to order eggs and omelets, yogurt parfaits, bacon, sausage, and an oatmeal bar. Everything you need to start your ski day. Plus, you can get some of their breakfast paninis to go!
For being a hotel near a ski resort, I was surprised to see such a boring pool and hot tub area. They could really spruce it up a bit. (I felt like I was walking through a dank basement.) They could also heat up the dry sauna and let people know it is there.
I would have given higher marks to the hotel, but it's decor is dated and the elevator was broken down for more than a day.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are in the planning stages now for a renovation for our hotel that will happen next year - we will put your comments into our planning information. We're pleased that you enjoyed our location, we think its great too! We're also very happy that you enjoyed our breakfasts. Our Grab and Go"offerings are so quick and easy with selections to suit everyone. We welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Nothing wrong with it and staff are very nice. It's just a tired property that needs to be updated. Comfy beds, awesome location.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. You'll be interested to learn that we are in the planning stages for a renovation at our hotel. In the meantime we are taking extra care to be sure our rooms are expertly cleaned and our guests are treated with care and everyone who stays with us has a wonderful time. We look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Over Presidents weekend, 9 of us went to Durango to ride the Durango Train. It was the Photographers Special train ride. 3 of us from Albuquerque, 4 from TX, 2 from MO.
We had our reservations well in advance and had been looking forward to this trip for a long time! We went to the Train station first to get our tickets and look around, then to the hotel for check in. LOVE the warm cookies Doubletree always hands out! YUM
Great check in, hotel is across the street from the Train Station & Downtown Durango...excellent location! The river that runs behind it is so cool!! We had a quick snow storm the night we arrived so it was very beautiful. A friend and I went to the hot tub that evening after dinner. The tub was big, hot...and we enjoyed the soak, only there were some little kids that were in there too...parents on the other side of the pool, visitng. We actually didn't mind...until the boys started jumping in...no help from the parents..so we left. The breakfast was delish and we were ready for the day!
Our room was very large and clean. I didn't sleep very well the first night...but I think it was the pillows!..so the next night...I used the one that says 'sweet dreams' and did a little better.
There is a good gift shop there, too. Staff was friendly and helpful! I would stay here again - and our visitors enjoyed it too!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the Doubletree Hotel Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your compliments, we're so pleased that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to having you return and stay with us again and for you to ride the train again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Court House, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Enjoyed our stay ...comfy king size bed, free hotel shuttle, good complimentary hot breakfast, and overall nice room. Within walking distance of the historic downtown district. Will stay there again when in Durango.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We're pleased that you enjoyed your ski trip to Durango and that you stayed with us. We'd love to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed (and will stay) at this hotel multiple times in the past 5 years. This hotel offers newer amenities than the rustic old historics on main street, and is within walking distance to all the attractions of downtown. The staff is always very polite and helpful, and have made me feel welcome on each occasion. Although not brand new by any means, this hotel has done well to take care of their property and rooms, and have recently upgraded the fitness center with nice, new equipment. The price will fluctuate depending on tourist season, but I'd certainly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and we are pleased that you are staying with us when you come to Durango. We are in the planning stages for a guest room renovation and will be doing a model room soon which we are very excited about. We look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, New Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Found the room to be blah, the bed to be very uncomfortable, and the restaurant to be marginal. Expected much more from Doubletree.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for the experience you had while staying with us. We've asked our maintenance staff to check out the bed in the room you stayed, most of our guests love our feather beds, down comforters etc. A few guests prefer firm beds and if we know this, we are happy to remove the feather beds, etc and provide normal bedding and a bed board under the mattress to give a firmer bed. We recently rolled out new menu's in our restaurant with more choices for our guests. We do hope that you will stay with us again to give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.