We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good value, great set up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iron Horse Inn to your Saves list
Iron Horse Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 North Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Comfortable, good value, great set up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed here 4 times now, all for the "Ironhorse" bicycle race. I love the set up as all the rooms have one queen bed downstairs and a loft with a queen bed upstairs. It's not totally private as the loft is open, but much better than two beds side-by-side. The water pressure is amazing, which is handy after biking. They don't have a hot tub but do have a pool. I like that the location is a bit out of town. I have aways stayed track-side, which is nice (for me) because the rooms face the tracks with a grassy area and park benches, so you can sit out and watch the train go by, watch the sunset, or whatever you'd like. Also, they have wood-burning fireplaces, which is pretty cool (no firetools, wood, or matches provided, but they sell dura-flame logs, or you can get firewood at a grocery or gas station). This is an older road-side motel, so don't expect fancy, but it's clean and comfortable, and pretty quiet from my experience.

Room Tip: I think it's worth the extra $10 per night to stay trackside. If you want to have a fire in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a great time, great view of the mountains, choo-choo train comes by but only during the daytime hours. Reasonable price for the suite, which had two beds and a fireplace. I would recommend this place for its value a quaint qualities. If you are looking for a nice room, with a great view this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Bring firewood for the fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there 20 years ago, and it doesn't look like they have done much upkeep since then. Poor breakfast, and becoming dated. Needs some TLC. The location by the Silverton railroad is interesting. Do get nice amenites in your room.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff is great which was enough for me then I seen the rooms and surrounding area absolutely breathe taking this is a must stay go out of your way for this hotel the staff is great and the rooms are so romantic



  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, the view was fantastic! Plus in the morning you got to see the Steam Train go right by the parking lot. That was excellent.

The unit was a two story unit, not bad but could be updated.

The breakfast was hot, but served in a strange looking room.

There seemed to be a lot of the units that were rented on a long term basis and they looked run down.

Room Tip: Get a room with a mountain view and a view of the steam train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talent, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent value for the amount of space. Very workable for 3-4 people or small family due to the 2nd story. Has a breakfast, game room, laundry. But the best part is the location right outside town that is quiet, peaceful and has a excellent view, surrounded by mountains.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

After a wayward GPS took us off track, we arrived in Durango 2 hours later than planned and having come from a harrowing trip over the "Million Dollar Highway" at midnight, I grabbed the first place I saw to stay the night. It turned out to be the Iron Horse Inn. They charged me $69 (plus tax) for a room with two queen beds (one upstairs in a loft), a fireplace, a fridge and microwave. For the price, the room was decent. It was a clean place to sleep and shower, which is all I was interested in at that point. The mattress looked new (I checked it for evidence of bedbugs) and was comfortable. Pillows and linens were nice. I would think with a bit of updating, this place could be really nice. It could use some new carpet, Wasn't too sure about the "guard dogs" who barked/growled at me as I entered the office, but it was cute how they patrolled the place with their little flashlight collars. They went into my room when I left the door open for a minute, snooped around and then left. Funny.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Iron Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Inn

Address: 5800 North Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iron Horse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Iron Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iron Horse Hotel Durango
Iron Horse Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.