We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, but average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Save Saved
You added Iron Horse Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iron Horse Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 North Main Street, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Interesting, but average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I and two high school age children stayed here. We had a "deluxe" bi-level suite facing the tracks and the mountains opposite.

It was an interesting unit with a kitchenette and bed down below and a small loft with a double bed and 2nd TV upstairs. The bathroom was small with a limited area around the sink. There was no closet, and despite the two rooms it was cramped. The property was generally a bit worn, but not too bad. There was a decent outdoor pool.

Our stay included an enhanced continental breakfast buffet with a waffle machine, which we enjoyed. While the hotel does face the tracks, there was only one train during our one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    27
    31
    43
See reviews for
71
28
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

In theory this was a great set up. Loft rooms-- main hotel room downstairs and a double bed upstairs great for the kids. That said-- our stay was terrible. Loft was so hot-- no fan and no way to open a window. Had to make downstairs freeze to get upstairs under 80. The sink faucet was broken and had to be turned 180deg the wrong way to not run. There was no plug for the tub drain so we had to stuff in a washcloth to clean the kids. The mattresses were the poorest quality I've found in a hotel. Breakfast ended at 9am- on a Saturday! (no warning to us). WiFi only in the lobby- not in the rooms. And worst-- the room smelled SO BAD. It was distracting it was so bad.

We hear some of the rooms are updated, and maybe they are better. Unfortunately for the Iron Horse, we won't ever go back to find out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Iron Horse Inn has remodeled 70 rooms which are now referred to trackside rooms. All of the 70 rooms were gutted and started over from ceiling to floor. Every trackside room offers a microwave, and small refrigerator. The nice benefit of staying at the Iron Horse inn is you don't have to pay the high room rates of staying in downtown Durango but yet have the option of the FREE trolley which departs from the Iron Horse Inn every 15 minutes which will take you downtown whenever you want to go. They added a real nice outdoor pool which is seasonal - not open in the winter months..

Room Tip: Stay in the trackside rooms the standard rooms have not been remodeled yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A good all round experience with helpful staff and a clean family orientated establishment. Only downfall is a long way out of town. No close facilities so a 10/15 min drive for anything. The Durango Diner is a must for breakfast worth a drive into town to search it out. Recomended by the hotel staff as the place the locals eat and I can see why. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

great place to stay on the edge of the city , steam train passes by everyday without falt . the pool and spa are open late for adults to enjoy some peace and relaxation after a long day . always a quiet and beautiful location to rest my head .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed one night in this hotel. Stayed on the view side where the train passes. The rooms are tri-level with a queen bed on each level. Had a fireplace which would be nice in the winter. Was very spacious. The sink and tub were older, but all was very clean. The beds and pillows were excellent. Had very good back support and didn't leave pressure points. We didn't have time to use the pool, which looked inviting. Since it was a little chilly outside, I think it was probably heated. The continental breakfast was simple, but the orange juice had pulp, not the watery kind, and was very good. Had to ask for a blow dryer and the manager brought it right over. I never checked out the fitness center, but there was one. We were on a back-packing trip. Stayed the first night before the trip at a motel in town. It had good beds and gave an AARP discount, which made it a little bit cheaper. Without that discount, this hotel is comparable. We liked this one better and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If the hotel isn't full, ask for a room that isn't next to another one being used, since we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I read reviews describing the same issues we encountered, but we like to stay in hotels that are not owned by chains or companies from other countries. So, we booked 2 nights at Iron Horse Inn in July, 2013 and I figured the issues mentioned would have been fixed long ago.

The first night, we quickly unloaded the car, turned on the air conditioner, and left for our day's activities. When we returned at bedtime, we discovered that the air conditioner wasn't working, and the room was still hot. There was a fan in the upstairs bedroom, so we thought opening the window and running the fan would make it workable. The window did open, but the glass was broken and it didn't appear to be recent. The young man at the desk said he would call maintenance, and maintenance would either come right away for first thing in the morning.

Maintenance never showed, to our knowledge.

The next afternoon, we asked for maintenance to come again and said we'd be out of the room for a few hours, so that would be a good time. However, my husband stayed in the room and maintenance never showed up again. So, we finally had to ask to switch rooms.

The first room must have been more recently updated than the second night's room. The second room did have a functioning air conditioner to cool the bottom bed/kitchenette/bath area, but the bedroom upstairs was hot because cold air does not rise. So, both nights, the kids were hot in the bed upstairs.

The second room also had the chairs mentioned in other reviews. The cloth covering the seat was old and ripped, exposing the padding inside.

On the positive side, the continental breakfast was totally adequate. My daughters were excited to see cranberry juice instead of the typical apple juice. Muffins, bagels, toast, and cereal were available, and the eating area was large and clean.

The free shuttle does stop there (I believe 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., but ask to be sure if this matters).

Internet is only available by the front desk in the lobby, apparently. But I easily connected when I went there.

My kids enjoyed the pool, which was clean/well maintained.

Is this hotel good enough to stay at? Probably, if you don't plan to be in the room much. But...

1. Ask for a room that they have had NO problems with the air conditioning if you go during the summer. I don't know how they handle these problems in the winter, since the same unit probably heats.
2. Ask for a room that has been updated. I believe you would then have a half-sized refrigerator as well as cleaner carpet, chairs, etc.
3. If anyone will be staying in the loft bed, check the temperatures. It is hot up there in the summer, even in rooms with working air conditioners.
4. Arrive early enough to inspect the room, and if it is not satisfactory, ask to move or ask for your money back and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has not had troubles with heat/air conditioning. Ask for a room that has been re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Inn

Address: 5800 North Main Street, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iron Horse Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Iron Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iron Horse Hotel Durango
Iron Horse Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.