We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Save Saved
You added Iron Horse Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Iron Horse Inn
5800 North Main Street, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 hotels in Durango
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We passed motel chains literally built on top of each other in downtown Durango. Cars squeezed in every where. All built on the road that passes between the 2 mountains on either side. Totally noisy and claustrophobic! Just north of town we found the Iron Horse. A location with breathing room between the mountains. Our room was quiet and the top level bedroom provided a lovely morning view of the sun as it peaked over the mountains. Modest mountain vistas surrounded.
The narrow gauge RR went right by our room and was fun to see. The pool was large and kids and adults were swimming. The trolley serviced downtown. We always had a parking spot right in front of our room. For tourist season in Durango, $120 seemed reasonable. The room was clean and comfortable. We stayed 2 nights and will happily stay again next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the RR side to get some breathing room, less congestion and that morning sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    25
    26
    38
See reviews for
64
25
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

It is located about 4 miles from the Historic Downtown; it is right next to the Durango Silverton RR track. The trains only run during the day, so it's more entertaining than a nuisance; after all it is one of the major Durango attractions. As many other motels, it does offer a continental breakfast, but I would not waste my time unless you had to eat something with your morning pills. They offer two level rooms with a queen bed on each level; the first floor includes the bat, a fireplace, table & chairs and TV. While the 2nd floor loft includes a 2nd TV. The furnishings and amenities are very basic and do not include a hair drier. There is an outdoor pool and the surrounding scenery is outstanding. Although they stated free WiFi, I never detected one with my iPad or Mini notebook; I tried morning and evening.

Room Tip: The 2 level suites have two queen beds with one bath and great views of the Durango Silverton train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Well, for $120 a night, it's not unreasonable to expect a coffee maker in the room, wi fi (we were lucky we had a wireless card), a WORKING outlet near the table where I will be using my computer, and WORKING cold water out of the sink faucet. And two keys for two people, not just one (seriously?) Not awful, but way overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We'd made a reservation here based on the location, amenities and the 2-level rooms. We arrived to find most everything was as we'd hoped except for one thing: no internet connection.

This was really necessary for us to stay in touch with business. After checking in and hauling our baggage into the room, and finding no wifi, we called the front desk. The clerk who checked us in -- a pretty young kid -- was so matter of fact about the fact that the wifi didn't work (ie unapologetic) suggesting this is pretty much par for the course in the room we were given and that the wifi really only extends up to a certain room number, or in the laundry room.

We asked for another room where wifi might work. He let us know the one available room he said might be in range, but after checking it out, that room, too, would not connect.

We had no choice but to check out. My biggest complaint is that they advertise the hotel as having wifi - but clearly, they know all along that it's pretty unreliable, and in many cases, non-existent. So were put to the trouble of having to find alternate accommodation.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Over the years, my family and I have stayed at the Iron Horse Inn many times both during the summer and the winter seasons. We choose it because of the room arrangement with a bedroom upstairs and one downstairs. However, this time, our stay was underwhelming. First, I reserved our rooms online so the management knew we were on our way. They did not turn on the AC to cool the room prior to our arrival. When we arrived, the room we were assigned was HOT, facing west, and the AC did NOT work. We couldn't get the room cooled. We called the front desk and they said they would have the maintenance man come and check it once he returned from out of town. An hour later, we were still very uncomfortable. They had us move to the room next door. Only one of the keys would unlock the door. The AC worked great, but only the bottom floor would cool. The bottom floor had a full-size bed and the upstairs had the queen bed. The upstairs didn't cool off until the next morning. No lights worked in the upstairs--not the wall sconce on the stairway, not the lamp, nor the overhead light. The bathroom light did not work either. On the second day of our stay, late in the afternoon, a repairman did come to "fix" the bathroom light. He had to call another repairmen to help him. The problem was a breaker, not a light bulb. Three hours later, we did have a light in the bathroom, but we had also missed out on an entire afternoon of shopping and sightseeing in Durango. The remote to the only TV didn't work either. There was no Wi-Fi as advertised. When I asked, the blonde clerk at the front desk about how to log in, she asked what room I was in and then replied,"Oh, our Wi-Fi probably doesn't reach down to that room; our signal is really weak". In fact, the Iron Horse advertises online that the suites have been remodeled and updated, free Wi-Fi, and breakfast. We didn't find any of this to be true. There was only one working dryer and another guest put their clothes in the dryer and didn't come back to remove them (we waited for over an hour). So, to say our stay was less than stellar would be accurate. We were very disappointed because we had always had great memories from this place, but not this time. After staying at several other hotels, motels, cabins, etc. of all types and price ranges on this trip, we knew exactly what good customer service was. We didn't find it here. I would recommend that the manager check the rooms periodically himself. If the lights don't work, he would be able to detect it then and remedy it before guests arrive. How can the cleaning staff actually clean if there is no light? One more tip, turn on the AC before your guests with reservations arrive. Hmmmmmm.....

Room Tip: Be sure to ask a lot of questions AND ask for the AC to be turned on prior to your arrival. You mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Overall my family of 4 had a great time at The Iron Horse Inn and the positive reviews already posted are accurate. I want to focus on the disappointments that could have been avoided if the management were to make sure the facts printed and stated on the phone were accurate.
False or misleading statements:
1) "Fireplace in every room." True, but no mention of the fact that it is not permitted to use them for anything other than a duraflame log.
2) "All deluxe rooms have been completely refurbished." False. Our bathroom sink had damage from a burn or some other abuse. It looked grody even though it was clean.
3) Spa tub is in a bathroom without windows with the toilet inches away. It is about the same size as a regular hotel tub. The jets work, but you should not expect anything romantic or even relaxing.

Maintenance was being done, but had to be requested. Our kitchen sink was stopped up and the disposal wasn't working.
Breakfast is minimal and poorly presented: no attendant on duty, so it is possible to arrive and find some of the items unavailable, such as muffins or tea.
Continental breakfast can mean a lot of things. Here it means mass-produced bagels and muffins, 2 cereal choices, coffee, tea, milk and juice. Not available but easy and inexpensive to provide: boiled eggs and fruit. At minimum, an attendant should replenish frequently.
Pool towels are provided, but they are skimpy and of poor quality.
The single coin-operated dryer is in a dismal dingy game room and ate a lot of coins but did not get our clothes dry; I had to drive to town and find a laundromat to finish the job. I recommend that you begin at the clean and friendly laundromat (on the East Side of 550 as you head back towards the town center), where you can pay for your drying 25 cents at a time and the machines work extremely well.

The staff was courteous and friendly and responded well to our initial disappointment and strove to meet our needs as our stay (4 nights in all) progressed.

With a few improvements, a stay at the Iron Horse would be considerably better and more satisfying. At the minimum, the misinformation on line and over the phone should be corrected: we would have been happier from the start. As it was, we enjoyed our stay and would consider returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

My family and I stayed a couple of days just recently and were very pleased with our stay, the rooms were very clean, they offered us clean towels and remade our beds without us having to ask. The hotel is very pet friendly, and plenty of space for your pet without bugging other guest. The location is ideal and the property is very clean, Manager Tabby and her staff go out of their way to make your stay comfortable,I will be back. Brian K.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iron Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Inn

Also Known As:
Iron Horse Hotel Durango
Iron Horse Durango
Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 5800 North Main Street, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Iron Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.