We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was not a bad hotel but there were some problems. The positives included easy walking distance to downtown, pretty grounds, and clean rooms. The downside was a very slow check-in and no elevators. We had large suitcases that were difficult to get up and down the stairs. When we checked out, the housecleaning staff had the stairs blocked with their carts which added to the difficulty. If you want to wait, the hotel will track down the maintenance man to help with luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground level room. There are no elevators and it's not easy getting large suitcases u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    108
    58
    24
    12
See reviews for
62
101
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice. It is in a GREAT location. You can walk anywhere in Durango. It is no frills, but inexpensive and clean. Free wifi, but no free breakfast. It has a nice indoor swimming pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Durango downtown Inn is in an excellent location, just as the name insinuates. Blocks from the train, shops, restaurants, etc. Clean rooms, average size and appointments, however not a great value, especially with No Free Breakfast!

Would probably save $50 and stay a little away from downtown next time as Durango is only so big.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel has a very good location, within walking distance of downtown Durango. It is pricey, but not out of line for Durango in the summer. Well-maintained grounds, right next to the river. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms on the river side are closer to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was located in a perfect part of town. Right by the downtown shops and food. I would say for the price the room could be a little nicer. Clean but loud, there was a fight right outised our room the first night there. Granted I am sure this is not a common occurance the thin walls and room right off the parking lot left a little to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Kimberli H.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your honesty. Our prices are a direct reflection of the location, competition and demand in the area. So many people are shocked at the high prices in the Durango area, however tourism is such a thriving business in the area especially in the summer time. We are often considered a value because though we have the downtown location we have the north Main pricing. I am so sorry to hear that there was a disturbance outside of your room, that is very upsetting. Please come back in our off season, you will find Durango is still a great to visit but prices are much more reasonable. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Safe travels!


Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Loved the grounds, especially good for pets. There is a wonderful river walk right outside, and a convenient Applebys right on the premises. I will stay here again but in a riverfront room next time. The courtyard is a bit noisy and the air conditioner was a bit troublesome.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Linda S.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds. We love our flowers and lawn and are so happy that you noticed how beautiful they are. I am so sorry to hear that you had some noise the night you were here. We really look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you again for your review.


Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The rooms are small but clean. Flat screen with HBO channels. Jaquzzi is good. Hotel is pet friendly ($10) and has good walking and grass areas. Good location by the river walk, close to skatepark and a few blocks from downtown. Wireless is slow. Try to get a room facing the river.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Mary H,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We are so lucky to be in such a great location. I truly apologize for the slow wifi and wish we had the chance to fix that while you were still here. Thank you again for your candor and we really look forward to welcoming you back soon. Safe Travels!


Sincerely,

Megan Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.