We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for the area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Save Saved
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Durango
arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good value for the area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel has a very good location, within walking distance of downtown Durango. It is pricey, but not out of line for Durango in the summer. Well-maintained grounds, right next to the river. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms on the river side are closer to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    87
    40
    20
    4
See reviews for
46
78
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was located in a perfect part of town. Right by the downtown shops and food. I would say for the price the room could be a little nicer. Clean but loud, there was a fight right outised our room the first night there. Granted I am sure this is not a common occurance the thin walls and room right off the parking lot left a little to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Kimberli H.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your honesty. Our prices are a direct reflection of the location, competition and demand in the area. So many people are shocked at the high prices in the Durango area, however tourism is such a thriving business in the area especially in the summer time. We are often considered a value because though we have the downtown location we have the north Main pricing. I am so sorry to hear that there was a disturbance outside of your room, that is very upsetting. Please come back in our off season, you will find Durango is still a great to visit but prices are much more reasonable. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Safe travels!


Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Loved the grounds, especially good for pets. There is a wonderful river walk right outside, and a convenient Applebys right on the premises. I will stay here again but in a riverfront room next time. The courtyard is a bit noisy and the air conditioner was a bit troublesome.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Linda S.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds. We love our flowers and lawn and are so happy that you noticed how beautiful they are. I am so sorry to hear that you had some noise the night you were here. We really look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you again for your review.


Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The rooms are small but clean. Flat screen with HBO channels. Jaquzzi is good. Hotel is pet friendly ($10) and has good walking and grass areas. Good location by the river walk, close to skatepark and a few blocks from downtown. Wireless is slow. Try to get a room facing the river.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Mary H,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We are so lucky to be in such a great location. I truly apologize for the slow wifi and wish we had the chance to fix that while you were still here. Thank you again for your candor and we really look forward to welcoming you back soon. Safe Travels!


Sincerely,

Megan Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed here one night on a road trip through Colorado, so we were looking for convenient accommodations rather than some place to stay for any length of time. We also had our dog with us, which limits our selection somewhat. The Downtown Inn worked just fine for us.

For a quick overnighter with a dog, it's nice to be able to pull up to a room that exits directly to the parking lot. Well, at least pull up near the room, as the place was full and parking was tight. The room was nothing extraordinary, but clean and spacious enough for the three of us for the night. The picture on the TV was sub-par, but serviceable for the few minutes we watched. The location is great, only two blocks from the shops, restaurants, and bars of Main Street, and right on the river where you can take advantage of the nice walking path Durango has built.

Our room was on the river side. I hesitate to call it a room with a view, because it was on the first floor and all you can see is cars from the room window. Perhaps you can see more from the second floor. Nonetheless, it was nice being that close to the walking path with a dog.

The staff at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. There's an Applebee's on site and they actually open for breakfast which was nice. There's a grocery store across the street and another down the street.

I'd certainly have no problem staying here again, and even my wife, who's the fussier of the two of us, said it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the river side. Although there's not really a view from the first floor, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Sunburnt_curt,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that you, your wife and your furry friend had such a nice time. We are so happy to be one of the few places in Durango that offer pet friendly rooms especially . We love pets and with so much great outdoor adventure in Durango it would be a shame to leave them at home. Rooms on the second floor do offer a much better view. I hope we are able to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,


Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Check in staff was rude. Cleaning staff didn't announce themselves or knock when entering the room and I was just stepping out of the shower. We called the front desk to complain and left the "do not disturb" sign on door. When we returned from dinner we found that staff had entered the room after we asked them not too even with the do not disturb sign on door. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Vacayfam,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I truly appreciate your candor as it only helps the hotel improve. I must say I am deeply concerned about the impression that was left on you. It is the complete opposite of what our hotel standards and policies are. We have strict rules in place in regards to entering a room and should never have entered in the manner that you have described. I assure you that I am looking in to this situation so that no other guest will ever leave feeling that way that you have.


Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Inn is average by most standards, but the location and price make it above average. Most hotels in Durango are way overpriced. This place offers a very good value and a great location. We walked to main street for shopping and dinner. Get a room facing the river. There is a very nice jogging path along the river, right behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear f02301,

Thank you so much for reviewing the hotel. I am so happy to hear someone as well traveled as you say what a great value this hotel is. While prices in Durango are very high we try to make it possible for people on a budget to still be able to be on the river and right downtown so that they can enjoy all that Durango has to offer with ease. Thank you for your review and I hope that we are able to serve you again in the near future. Until then safe travels!


Sincerely,

Megan Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.