We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean property with great customer service! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Save Saved
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Durango
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Clean property with great customer service! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Although this is an older property, it is VERY clean. The riverfront rooms offer a spectacular view and you're only steps from the walking/bike path. The staff was professional and accommodating. **Props to Natasha at the front desk!!!**
We had a schedule change that put us in town a little earlier than expected and called to see if we could check in early. Natasha took our number and said she would call when our room was available. We never really expected a call back but she did exactly what she said she would do, thank you Natasha. We will definitely be back!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Khawkins7979,

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We really appreciate the kind things you said about the cleanliness and views. Natashia will be thrilled that her hard work and dedication has been recognized in such a great way. Thank you again and we really look forward to welcoming you back! Safe travels!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    85
    39
    20
    4
See reviews for
46
77
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

I came here for a work visit and it was pleasant enough - but some real drawbacks. No wi-fi in the hotel despite advertising to the contrary. Their solution (instead of fixing the problem during my three day stay) was to have me work in the lobby. Not the most effective conference call location! Great location - but probably best to avoid until they get some of their internal issues resolved.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear John P.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your candor and take your concerns very seriously. I assure you that if the front desk agent was able to fix the problem he or she would have. We find the trouble with the WIFI as frustrating as the guests do and have put in several calls to the service provider to fix the problem in the area your room was located. During the time of the stay we were waiting on a technician from the service provider. The front desk wanted to inform you that our advertised Wi-Fi was available in the lobby, so you could have something during your stay in spite of the unfortunate trouble. I cannot apologize enough that your work was disrupted and assure you that we are working diligently to ensure that the problem does not happen again. Thank you for the kind things you said about the hotel and I hope that you will be able to join us again in the near future. Safe travels!


Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

An older hotel (smaller rooms, small bathrooms) but well maintained and super clean. No breakfast, but 24 hour oatmeal, coffee, tea, and energy bars in the lobby. Great indoor pool and hot tub. Applebees on site. Great location close to downtown and the D & S NG rail depot and immediately on the Aminas river trail. Pets allowed (rare in Durango) with a $10/nite charge. Most of the hotels in Durango tend to be old dumps (experience talking here). Anything nice tends to be way overpriced.

Room Tip: Want to see the river? Ask for river view, upstairs. Your view will be across the narrow parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear FreeThr0w,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate all of the nice things that you said about us. We take so much pride in the cleanliness of the hotel it is great when our guest acknowledge the effort! I love the picture you posted- looks like you had a great day of relaxing in our courtyard. Thank you again for all of the kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We recently stayed at the Durango Downtown Inn for the first time. Great location. Enjoyed restaurants, shopping, and the Saturday Farmers market...all within walking distance. You can get to the narrow gauge railroad station by walking. Hotel staff was very nice in suggesting restaurants, brew houses, breakfast places to try on the main streets also. Not a luxurious hotel, but clean, value priced, and worth the stay. There is an Applebee's restaurant next door. Easy self park near room entrances and stairways.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Great Day Traveling,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We really are glad that you were able to enjoy so much of Durango and thank you for letting everyone know how conveniently located we are for experiencing all of those things. We look forward to your next visit! Safe travels!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The doubletree next door wanted to charge us $239 for one night! We came across the durango downtown inn. We were sceptical at first, but the attention that housekeeping pays to detail really impressed us. We definitely like the location and everyone that works there is very nice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We take great pride in the cleanliness of the hotel and really appreciate it when people notice. We are looking forward to welcoming you back when you return to Durango. Thank you again and safe travels!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel is a block from downtown and a few feet from the river. Hotel is very pet friendly . A restaurant is attached and 20 others within walking distance. Hotel is very good at allowing early admittance.

Room Tip: Weekday stays are about half the weekend rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are definitely happy to assist any guest trying to check in early if we have the room availability. Pets are always welcome at the hotel for a nominal charge of just $10 per pet per night. However, we are also able to accommodate any guests looking for a "pet free" room. Thank you again for the kind words and we really look forward to welcoming you and your pet back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

After a night if camping, 12 mile hike, and freezing windstorm, this hotel provided us with the bare essentials for a reasonable price! Outdoor hotel with small rooms, but clean and comfortable to rest sore muscles with the outdoor adventures Durango and Mancos has to offer!! Attached restaurant and walking distance to mainstreet cafes and shops!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Alison,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad that we were able to meet your needs. We get a ton of travelers, like yourself, that are coming back from an exhausting trek in the wonderful wilderness surrounding Durango and we are happy to provide hot showers, comfortable beds and a smiling face to greet you (a soak in our hot tub seems to top it all off). Thank you again and we really look forward to having you back after your next adventure!


Sincerely,

Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.