We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel is a block from downtown and a few feet from the river. Hotel is very pet friendly . A restaurant is attached and 20 others within walking distance. Hotel is very good at allowing early admittance.

Room Tip: Weekday stays are about half the weekend rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are definitely happy to assist any guest trying to check in early if we have the room availability. Pets are always welcome at the hotel for a nominal charge of just $10 per pet per night. However, we are also able to accommodate any guests looking for a "pet free" room. Thank you again for the kind words and we really look forward to welcoming you and your pet back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    95
    48
    21
    5
See reviews for
51
86
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

After a night if camping, 12 mile hike, and freezing windstorm, this hotel provided us with the bare essentials for a reasonable price! Outdoor hotel with small rooms, but clean and comfortable to rest sore muscles with the outdoor adventures Durango and Mancos has to offer!! Attached restaurant and walking distance to mainstreet cafes and shops!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Alison,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad that we were able to meet your needs. We get a ton of travelers, like yourself, that are coming back from an exhausting trek in the wonderful wilderness surrounding Durango and we are happy to provide hot showers, comfortable beds and a smiling face to greet you (a soak in our hot tub seems to top it all off). Thank you again and we really look forward to having you back after your next adventure!


Sincerely,

Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was our second time here on a business trip. I booked a river side room for a river view, but on the ground floor, your view is of parking lot. Doesn't look a lot better on second (top) floor. Nice non-chain atmosphere and a handy, connected Applebee's (if you like that sort of thing).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. We really appreciate the feedback, I am so sorry that you did not like the view of the river. Thank you for saying we have a "non-chain" atmosphere. We love Durango so much for being very unique, there are very few chain restaurants and stores but the dining and shopping is all so great! We are glad to be a part of the uniqueness that makes Durango so special. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next business trip.


Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I truly like this motel but maybe its just because I am in love with Durango. This little town is so cool and friendly! The motel is clean and nice enough, close to the downtown. You can just walk outside and cross the street and you are in the middle of cool old shops, bars and restaurants. The staff is very helpful and friendly, rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel! We love Durango as much as you do. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here and really look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the staff was extremely helpful and the location is great. The price is a steal considering its walking distance from downtown. It also has an Applebee's in connected to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello Justin,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience here! Thank you for the kind words you said about the hotel. We cannot wait to welcome you back. Safe travels!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This motel is one of those whose rooms are arranged mom-and-pop style, that is you enter your room from the outdoors. Our room was clean, bright, and way roomy enough for the two of us. A very short walk leads you to the banks of the beautiful Animas River.
Personnel were friendly, and the only hassle was that the WiFi was on the fritz during our stay.
Immediately adjoining is an Applebee's restaurant, so you don't have to go far for nourishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here. I apologize for the issues with the internet, we did have a system outage, we were working together with our internet provider to get it working but it was not as quick as anyone would have liked. I am happy to say we are back up and running and our WI-FI is working well. Thank you again for the nice things you said about our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had a booking for Mesa Verde Far View, but the NPS shutdown compelled us to look for an alternative. Thus we reached Durango and popped into Downtown Inn. The motel is OK. The room is what you may expect, and the location is excellent. We also enjoyed a back room - with a view to Animas River. Very Nice. Having said that, I still felt unhappy with its pricing. The fact that I had no booking does not justify ripping me off. Though I negotiated the price down from the initial $135 to $95, I still paid more the what most people do, and the bad taste remained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I deeply apologize for your feelings of our hotel being overpriced. You did come here while we were still in our "peak" season and I want to assure you that the $135 rate that you were originally quoted is the rate that everyone that would have tried to call or book through the internet would have been quoted. Many times it is true that if you come in last minute to a hotel limited availability will drive the rate higher than if you had booked ahead of time, but you actually lucked out with not having a reservation and I am glad the front desk was able to get you a rate that was better for you. We do have much lower rates during our off-season (November-April) and it is a beautiful time of year to come and see Durango. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope that we will be able to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.