We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No river view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Save Saved
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“No river view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was our second time here on a business trip. I booked a river side room for a river view, but on the ground floor, your view is of parking lot. Doesn't look a lot better on second (top) floor. Nice non-chain atmosphere and a handy, connected Applebee's (if you like that sort of thing).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. We really appreciate the feedback, I am so sorry that you did not like the view of the river. Thank you for saying we have a "non-chain" atmosphere. We love Durango so much for being very unique, there are very few chain restaurants and stores but the dining and shopping is all so great! We are glad to be a part of the uniqueness that makes Durango so special. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next business trip.


Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    89
    43
    21
    4
See reviews for
47
83
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I truly like this motel but maybe its just because I am in love with Durango. This little town is so cool and friendly! The motel is clean and nice enough, close to the downtown. You can just walk outside and cross the street and you are in the middle of cool old shops, bars and restaurants. The staff is very helpful and friendly, rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel! We love Durango as much as you do. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here and really look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the staff was extremely helpful and the location is great. The price is a steal considering its walking distance from downtown. It also has an Applebee's in connected to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello Justin,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience here! Thank you for the kind words you said about the hotel. We cannot wait to welcome you back. Safe travels!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This motel is one of those whose rooms are arranged mom-and-pop style, that is you enter your room from the outdoors. Our room was clean, bright, and way roomy enough for the two of us. A very short walk leads you to the banks of the beautiful Animas River.
Personnel were friendly, and the only hassle was that the WiFi was on the fritz during our stay.
Immediately adjoining is an Applebee's restaurant, so you don't have to go far for nourishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here. I apologize for the issues with the internet, we did have a system outage, we were working together with our internet provider to get it working but it was not as quick as anyone would have liked. I am happy to say we are back up and running and our WI-FI is working well. Thank you again for the nice things you said about our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had a booking for Mesa Verde Far View, but the NPS shutdown compelled us to look for an alternative. Thus we reached Durango and popped into Downtown Inn. The motel is OK. The room is what you may expect, and the location is excellent. We also enjoyed a back room - with a view to Animas River. Very Nice. Having said that, I still felt unhappy with its pricing. The fact that I had no booking does not justify ripping me off. Though I negotiated the price down from the initial $135 to $95, I still paid more the what most people do, and the bad taste remained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I deeply apologize for your feelings of our hotel being overpriced. You did come here while we were still in our "peak" season and I want to assure you that the $135 rate that you were originally quoted is the rate that everyone that would have tried to call or book through the internet would have been quoted. Many times it is true that if you come in last minute to a hotel limited availability will drive the rate higher than if you had booked ahead of time, but you actually lucked out with not having a reservation and I am glad the front desk was able to get you a rate that was better for you. We do have much lower rates during our off-season (November-April) and it is a beautiful time of year to come and see Durango. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope that we will be able to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Motel style rooms at the back of a welcoming reception foyer and Applebee Restaurant. A good hotel right in the centre of town, whereas I noticed many of the other hotel chains were situated quite a long way out of town. Plenty parking at hotel – easier to walk into town’s main street than try and park there. Also situated on the side of the river for riverside walks. US standard 2 double bedded ensuite room, clean and comfy; hotel also had laundry facilities, a small indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Durango main street has numerous shops and restaurants. Applebees Restaurant attached to the hotel was very good for both breakfasts and evening meals, with excellent service. Packed with locals when a heavy early snowfall cut power to some outlying areas.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms had a good view - cars could park just outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the kind words that you said about our hotel. We hope that we will see you back in Durango soon.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel has what others would love to have. Location! It is a two block walk to the fascinating shopping on Main Street - Durango. We found the employees and staff to be personable and helpful. The common areas are spacious and has a nice indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and work-out room. We had the river-view room which was nice and quiet. There is coffee and tea in the lobby 24 - 7. There is an Applebee's Restaurant on site, which was very handy. They are even open for Breakfast, which brings me to my final point. The reason this hotel gets a 4 instead of a 5 is that they do not include Breakfast in their room rates. But then again, a lot of hotels in Durango don't serve Breakfast either. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Chjoose the river-view rooms for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Jerry B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so lucky to be located on the perfect spot in this beautiful town; close to all the restaurants, shopping and night life, yet still on the banks of the tranquil Animas. We are glad you enjoyed it as much as we do. I am so sorry we missed out on the last star, while we do not provide breakfast there are so many great local restaurants to explore it can be half of the fun! Our front desk can definately point you in the right direction for an amazing meal next time that you are in town. Thank you again for your feedback and we really look forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.