We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel has what others would love to have. Location! It is a two block walk to the fascinating shopping on Main Street - Durango. We found the employees and staff to be personable and helpful. The common areas are spacious and has a nice indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and work-out room. We had the river-view room which was nice and quiet. There is coffee and tea in the lobby 24 - 7. There is an Applebee's Restaurant on site, which was very handy. They are even open for Breakfast, which brings me to my final point. The reason this hotel gets a 4 instead of a 5 is that they do not include Breakfast in their room rates. But then again, a lot of hotels in Durango don't serve Breakfast either. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Chjoose the river-view rooms for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Jerry B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so lucky to be located on the perfect spot in this beautiful town; close to all the restaurants, shopping and night life, yet still on the banks of the tranquil Animas. We are glad you enjoyed it as much as we do. I am so sorry we missed out on the last star, while we do not provide breakfast there are so many great local restaurants to explore it can be half of the fun! Our front desk can definately point you in the right direction for an amazing meal next time that you are in town. Thank you again for your feedback and we really look forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    94
    48
    21
    5
See reviews for
50
86
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gwynn, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Pretty location on the river, but Durango itself was a little bit disappointing - more developed than I imagined. The Inn itself was fine, if a bit generic. This being said, we'd been spoiled with quirky lodgings the 5 nights prior to our Durango stay. The Inn was convenient enough to town, very convenient to the Durango-Silverton Railroad station. Room was fairly quiet, as we were on the back side. I imagine a room at the front might be subject to road noise. Beds were very comfortable, room was clean, bathroom supplies were nice and bath itself was clean and adequately-sized. Breakfast in the lobby wasn't fancy, but was appreciated. I understand that Durango is great for mountain biking, and this would probably be a good base for that. If I were to do this again, though, I'd probably stay in Silverton and take the train to Durango, rather than the other way around.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the back to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to help improve our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in the cleanliness and very much appreciate that you could see that. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy the town of Durango. The South-West has so many beautiful, eclectic little towns; you must have found some great ones! Thank you again for your review and we hope that if you ever do come to enjoy the world class mountain bike trails in the area we will see you here again!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, MD
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very adequate, clean, good location to Main Avenue. Would have been nice if it had included breakfast like the other places my husband and I stayed. Good deal for the price of the room. We stayed on the river side on the first floor and that was very convenient.

Room Tip: First floor on the river side is very convenient for parking and getting into room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel was in a good location for walking into town (5 minutes). The room was well equipped, clean and a good size. There was also a laudromat if required. The staff we met were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Durango. Thank you again and see you soon!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Durango Downtown was a really great hotel to stay and is close to the downtown area. Room was a good size and very clean and comfortable. Staff were great. Would have no hesitate to stay here again and will do so in 2015.

Cheers Peter

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to say such kind words about our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We really look forward to having you back in 2015, until then safe travels!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Durango Downtown Inn is nice motel that is within walking distance of the Animas River Trail and old downtown. The price was right and the facility was clean, comfortable, and with walking distance of restaurants and shops. I will stay in the Durango Downtown Inn the next time I am in Durango.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Ralph,

Thank you so much for taking the time to say such great things about the hotel. We really appreciate that you would share your experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Good value, clean and friendly staff. Very close to downtown and the steam train. We returned after the first good experience. It is nice to be walking distance to all of Downtown Durango? It was great to walk to Jean-Pierre's bakery and cafe for breakfast and dinner. I would certainly recommend the motel.

Room Tip: Good room for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel. Thank you so much for coming back to see us again after the last time you were here. You are going to be a regular before we know it! Jean Pierre's is such a great place, next time you are here you should try their Crab and Lobster Bisque it is amazing. Thank you again and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.