We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Wagga Wagga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Good value, clean and friendly staff. Very close to downtown and the steam train. We returned after the first good experience. It is nice to be walking distance to all of Downtown Durango? It was great to walk to Jean-Pierre's bakery and cafe for breakfast and dinner. I would certainly recommend the motel.

Room Tip: Good room for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel. Thank you so much for coming back to see us again after the last time you were here. You are going to be a regular before we know it! Jean Pierre's is such a great place, next time you are here you should try their Crab and Lobster Bisque it is amazing. Thank you again and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    92
    47
    21
    5
See reviews for
49
85
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ALLIANCE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our room was small in comparison to newer hotels. There was no frig/micro or breakfast. That really didn't matter as we were only there for one night. The room was very clean, The bed/bedding comfy. Pillows were too soft for us. We were able to park right outside our door. There are laundry facilities, cost $1.75 per load for washer and dryer. There are riverside or courtyard rooms that are available for a slightly higher price. We didn't choose this since we were there for only one night and the weather was nasty. Our room was very quiet. We didn't experience any vehicle noise in the morning as the surrounding guests seemed to be on the same late schedule that we were keeping. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is within 2 blocks of historic downtown, which would be very helpful considering the parking problem. The river walkway is right behind the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked two nights here hoping to take the train to Silverton. Once we found out the train was completely booked with only random seating throughout the train we asked if we could check out one day early. Brandon was very accommodating. The hotel itself is very nice, Rooms were very clean and large enough. The bathroom is a bit tiny for me. No refrigerator or microwave but there is a coffee maker. Lobby has instant oatmeal , microwave and coffee available 24/7. Attached to the hotel is an Applebee's that serves breakfast. I would visit this hotel again , but I was not a fan of Durango.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a decent room in an excellent location. It was great to be able to walk into downtown for a good meal and a few beers or to travel on the Durango and Silverton railway. You couldn't get any closer and still get free parking!
The room opened onto the front of the hotel. Although the main road was not far away the double glazing kept the noise to a minimum and did not disturb our sleep. The room wasn't ultra modern but was decorated and furnished to a simple but perfectly adequate standard. The quality of the housekeeping was extremely high. A quirk was that the blackout blinds were almost impossible to close completely. We ended up using the clips on a coat hanger and a chair pushed against the blinds to keep them shut. You could certainly see through the gaps if not! I found the wifi to be fine.
They do not provide breakfast in the room rate but do provide complementary coffee and oatmeal which is a nice touch. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

we stayed at the inn in September what a fabulous place. The staff were friendly the room was lovely we had a great stay. Durango is a wonderful place wish we could have stayed longer than the two days we allocated during our road trip around Colorado.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We opted and paid for an upgrade to a river view room. That was great until a couple of coaches decided to park right opposite our room and start their engines first thing in the morning.
Staff at reception was lovely and very helpful.
Room was fine, small but had all you needed; fridge; coffee maker; wifi etc.
Durango is a lovely place and with plenty of good eateries.
If the steam train goes by, cover your ears as the hoot is loud :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staying here for a family reunion. The staff was excellent. Natasha checked us in and she was superb! The whole staff was very helpful from where to eat to what to do. Will stay again!! The location was perfect since it is in the middle of everything for downtown Durango. With our large group, the hotel was able to accommodate us in that all of our room were right next to each other. The pool area was clean with plenty of pool towels on hand.

Room Tip: Loved the view of the Animas River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.